WoW 4.0 - No longer playable on a Mac as FPS are down

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jcaraballo70, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. Stephen Dowling macrumors regular

    Stephen Dowling

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #2
    I can back this up. Used to have 110+. Now I have an average of 6. This is stupid.
     
  2. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #3
    It's playable

    I have also played the Cata beta on my mac (core duo 17" macbook pro).

    Go to video preferences and turn off the fancy shadows, change to blob shadows, and reduce other effects. Turn off the sun spikes. This should improve your fps in Dalaran from 4 to 20-something, on par with patch 3.

    That's why we call it Lagaran. In other areas you shouldn't have much trouble, but definitely turn off the custom shadows.
     
  3. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
  4. rolfbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    EU
    #5
    I assume you don't run 10.6.5 which is the required mac os version for cataclysm.
     
  5. jcaraballo70 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #6
    The Cata Beta runs fine. The ACTUAL GAME 4.0 does not. Its all over the forums and turning off the above items has been mentioned as does nothing to improve a disgusting FPS.

    Like I said the game was VERY playable before 4.0

    Your assumption is correct since 10.6.5 is not available yet.
    Even then 10.6.5 might be required for Cata but I'm not playing Cata.
    I'm playing the current version 4.0

    Very Stupid and if not fixed soon I will be joining the thousands who will quit the game. I refuse to pay for a game that is unplayable.
     
  6. Golem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #7
    Turning off sun spikes got it too playable. But even then its weird. If I fly into Dalaran I will sit on 2-4 fps for a few minutes and then climb to 20. I go to stormwind I hit 160 fps.
     
  7. Vivid.Inferno macrumors 6502

    Vivid.Inferno

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #8
    I was raiding on my MBP lastnight without an issue.
     
  8. StopSign24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #9
    I'm running on a late '09 13" Macbook Pro, upgraded to 4gb of RAM, and haven't had any problems with performance in the new update. I attached a picture of my settings, and get no less than 20 fps when running around Dalaran, and a constant 40 anywhere else (my max fps is set to 40).
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    Interesting; I'm using an HD4870 and I get "good" (subjective) performance everywhere but Dalaran, which will randomly drop to 3-5 fps. However, the actual Cata beta is fine.
     
  10. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    #11
    Turn water and sun spikes to low. You might get away with medium shadows. The game runs fine on my old machine in my sig.

    So ya the game is very playable.
     
  11. BazzFreeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Near London
    #12
    I'm playing both the Beta and 4.0.1 patch on a 27" iMac with 4850 GPU.
    With graphics set to ULTRA

    (both)
    Dalaran is pretty horrible, very choppy with anything from 6fps when moving to 25fps when standing still for a while.

    (Beta)
    Dalaran is still pretty bad.

    Outside Dalaran it can go from 30 to 120 depending on how many other bods are around. Also, the spinning texture downloader doesn't seem to affect fps that much with bits of scenery rendering as they get loaded.

    Orgrimmar is getting almost as bad as Dalaran, though and I expect the Alliance capital cities will be much the same.

    I'm going to try reducing one Advanced graphic setting at a time and see what makes the most difference, but I suspect it'll be a combination of several things.

    One thing I've noticed is that I was getting a LOT of disk thrashing when moving around Dalaran.

    I'm going to run the Techtool pro defragger overnight and see if the recent patching has produced some disk IO bottleneck.
     
  12. robo456 macrumors 6502

    robo456

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #13
    It's not just a mac thing. I have a pc that I custom built: i7 920, 6gb ram, 4870 1gb, WD black HD. With ULTRA settings it coughs up all over itself post 4.0.1. I had to put it to medium to keep it from studdering in Dalaran.

    I was pretty disappointed with the performance, considering (yes, the video is a bit outdated) I used to be able to have everything pinned in the graphics settings.

    I was originally worried about getting the iMac 27" i7 because of gaming performance, but now I see my custom PC is no better, so why not then?! eheh.

    --rob
     
  13. jcaraballo70 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #14
    I noticed your Rez is only 1024 - any game is playable at that rez!
    How about the MASS of folks on 27" iMacs or in my case a rez of 2560 on my 30" Apple Cinema Display?

    That my friend is TOTALY unplayable.
     
  14. Andreas1337 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    #15
    Go into your WTF folder and open config.wtf in TextEdit.
    Put in SET gxApi "opengl" and you'll be running the old engine - making it playable again in good graphics.
     
  15. jcaraballo70 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #16
    I will try that when I get home tonight.
     
  16. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Hopefully this means a new version of OpenGL for 10.6.5.
     
  17. merneric macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #18
    What are your system specs? At first, I assumed you were running on something other than mac pro, but seems as if you are?

    If so, what graphics card?

    Reason I ask, is (altho this may be a bit unfair) it seems to run fine on my new hex with 5870 in the highest settings I can get (w/o the 10.6.5 drivers) at 2560 res on my 30" ACD. It does sometimes "stutter" a little in Dal, but o/w is smooth. Also, I run at the new windowed (fullscreen) mode, and this is with the gll (not opengl) setting.
     
  18. Cboss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    This doubled my FPS on a MacBook with an X3100.

    I'm playing on a 1920x1080 screen and am getting 16 FPS in Ironforge. Yes, still terrible, but at least I can play now. Thank you for posting this.
     
  19. czeluff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #20
    I've installed Windows 7 under Bootcamp on my iMac with an 8800GTS 512mb card. The game is SO MUCH SMOOTHER under Windows, it's quite sad :/

    I'm interested in trying the WTF config file edit to see if this improves things. But I'm not even running Cata yet; just running WotLK, the Mac side runs terribly.
     
  20. Andreas1337 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    #21
    It'll work with the newest patch. Actually it has worked since 3.3.5
     
  21. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #22
    Use the aforementioned OpenGL gxapi. The game will run just as well as before.
     
  22. StopSign24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #23
    I play in windowed mode, and changing the resolution doesn't do anything. I had it at 1024x640 because earlier I was testing to see if it would make a difference. Whether I'm playing fullscreen 1280x800 or windowed 1024x640, I get the exact same FPS.
     
  23. athinamj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #24
    When I try to fly from Dalaran to any other location WoW crashes.
    Even with my own flying mount it crashes.
    This patch is a disaster for Mac Users!
    I think it's the most serious of all since I can't play my character!
    I have all my Video Settings to Fair.
    I'm really disappointed!
     
  24. Blaine macrumors 6502a

    Blaine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Abilene TX
    #25
    eek, sounds like Blizzard has some serious optimizing to do
     

Share This Page