Wow, am I bummed - Tiger Woods '08

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by RichardI, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. RichardI macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Man, what a disappointment. The game arrived today and I opened it, read the little book that comes with it (very little), inserted the DVD and installed it. Be warned: before installing I suggest you create a new folder called TW '08 under your Applications folder and install the game into that rather than directly into your Applications folder as it tells you to do. That way all the little files are in that folder - just neater that way.
    After installing it, I started the game (DVD is required in the drive :mad::mad::confused:) set up the video, etc. and selected "Play Now" and clicked. . . . . .black screen. Completely black. Hit Command-Q - nothing. Hit command-option-escape as suggested in the readme (yes, I read it) - nothing happened. Had to hold the power button for 5 secs.
    Tried 3 more times with different settings, even default - no go. Nothing but black screens.
    EA: the MS of the gaming industry....:(
    Have no clue where to go from here....
    Rich :apple:
     
  2. supertramp2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #2
    Same thing happened to me! Running brand spankin' new iMac 20" 2.4. What the heck!
     
  3. jasdelta Guest

    #3
    Rich,
    Very sorry to hear that. Keep us posted on what you have tried to get it running and if you are able to get any help from EA.

    Jim
     
  4. jasdelta Guest

    #4
    Rich,
    I forgot to ask you, what video card does your Imac have?

    Jim
     
  5. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #5
    Playing golf video games is probably as boring as watching the golf....


    Unless it's Happy Gilmore, I like that :cool:
     
  6. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #6
    I think the problem is that EA is not developing native game apps. I am staying away from games developed in this new sneaky way. They are just Windows games with a wrapper to run on Macs.

    Shame on you EA! The Mac is big enough to focus on native apps with it's much larger home / school marketshare. I wish when I buy a EA game for the PC, there was a way to communicate back to EA that it will be running on a Mac and not a PC.
     
  7. RichardI thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Jim: it's the "top-o-the-line" HD 2600 Pro. So far I have tried all the different resolutions, including "default". I posted over on an EA support forum, but that is all I know to do. If anyone knows some way I can actually contact EA support.....:rolleyes: I'll send them an e-mail.

    Rich :cool:
     
  8. jasdelta Guest

    #8
    Rich,
    That's really frustrating, I'm sure for you. It was for me when I tried NFSC and i would not work on my Mac Pro. One would think that with the delay in release of both Madden 08 and TW 08, that EA would have done hours of testing on all the new Macs to make sure they would run, flawlessly, but that obviously did not happen.

    In my case with NFSC, I could not get any help from EA at all, only that they were working on a solutiion. They could not tell me why it would not work on my system. The only way I know of to contact them is via the forum method and putting in a support request. I tried to even look for a phone contact for the GO, but could not find one for that either. They have no phone contacts for tech support, that I know of.

    As I may have mentioned earlier, I am running TW 08 Windows on my bootcamp XP partition and it runs great. No consolation to you I know, but at least that's an option for you if you can't ever get it running on the Mac side.

    Really seems odd though, that guys have posted here that are successfully running Madden 08 Mac on your setup with no problems at all.

    Keep us posted. I hope you are able to get it resolved, I'd like to run it on my Mac side as well.

    Jim
     
  9. ericsthename macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    #9
    All these problems makes me wonder what the catch is?

    Does apple not do enough to make sure that dev's have equipment to test with etc. etc. ( I have no idea what the standard process is in the "industry")?

    I know EA is being kinda cheap by not porting the code properly... is OPENGL a problem?

    It seems really strange that a publisher the size of EA could have problems pumping out compatible games for a platform that has only a handful of hardware configurations.
     
  10. jasdelta Guest

    #10
    Rich,

    The following is from the Apple web site. I suspect that you may have a video card conflict, but not sure. IMHO it should have been tested with all cards available.

    System Requirements

    * Mac OS X v10.4.9 or later
    * 1.83GHz or faster Intel Core Duo processor
    * 1GB RAM
    * 6GB free hard-disk space
    * Video card: ATI X1600 series or later; NVIDIA GeForce 7300 or later
    * DVD-ROM drive

    Jim
     
  11. supertramp2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #11
    Contact # Directly from TW '08 manual - 1 650 628 1001.

    I contacted them about this problem, and see their response below. BTW, I had already tried this, and it didn't work for me.

    "Thank you for taking the time to contact EASPORTS Technical Support regarding the issue you've been having with black screen crashing in Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 for the Mac. Sometimes, if you have a variety of programs running in the background on your computer, they may be using a considerable amount of system resources resulting in a crash similar to the one you've described. Closing these unnecessary background processes will help boost system performance in your game, as well as free up system resources which may be conflicting with the game.
    1. From the Finder menu open the Go menu and select Utilities.
    2. Open the Activity Monitor program.
    3. In the top right cornor, make sure the My Processes option is selected from the pull down menu.
    4. Highlight the programs listed one at a time and click the Quit Process button in the top left.
    5. When the confirmation window appears select Force Quit to close the program.
    6. Repeat those steps until only the following four are listed:

    Dock
    Finder
    LoginWindow
    Activity Monitor

    Note: there will be other programs that either will not close, or will re-appear after being closed. Those processes can be skipped.
    7. Close the activity monitor and attempt to run the game.

    Be aware that this is only a temporary change, restarting the system will restore it to the default state. If closing these programs helps resolve performance issues you may want to go through them one by one to narrow down which program is causing the conflict."

    Let me know if anyone else has success with this!
     
  12. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
  13. RichardI thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #13
    Supertramp: love your music, BTW :D ;)..
    Anyway, thanks for your input. I'll certainly give that a try, but if it didn't work for you, it will likely not work for me. I'll let you know.

    Jim: theoretically, the HD2600 Pro is a better card than those listed.

    Rich :cool:
     
  14. jasdelta Guest

    #14
    Hmm,

    I would have thought so too, being it is the latest offering on the new IMac's, but a black screen sure sounds like a video conflict. Did you get any response yet from EA?

    Jim
     
  15. iriejedi macrumors 6502a

    iriejedi

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    #15
    get a 360

    100% mac fan... but I admit the Xbox 360 is about the only thing MS did well... if your box works of course.

    While Halo 3 is the greatest game ever... Tiger Woods 2008 is amazing... especially with a torn rotator cuff and my golf game sidelined for the winter... it is a great game. I hope EA sorts out the the Mac version. If I did not own a 360.. I'd probably be in the same boat.

    Good luck!
     
  16. jasdelta Guest

    #16
    Rich,

    Did you get it up and running yet?

    Jim
     
  17. jdubzz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #17
    Tigers Woods 08 NO PROBLEMS

    Hey: Sorry to hear so many are having bad experiences with TW 08. I just got it today for my up comming long Air Plane ride. My only problem is figuring out how to play, I do need to read something????? I installed it with no glitches, so far it looks pretty nice.

    15" MacBookPro :eek:
     
  18. jasdelta Guest

    #18
    What video card do you have in your Mac Book Pro?

    Jim
     
  19. mazilis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago area
    #19
    Just installed the game today on my new 24" 2.8 Ghz iMac. I'm getting the black screen freeze as well. I couldn't find anything over at the EA forum - and couldn't find a way to search. They don't even seem to have a dedicated OsX forum. The game looks promising, but I can't play for more than a few minutes before the screen goes black and I have to do a hard shut down of the system. Very frustrating.
     
  20. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #20
    that stinks. surely they are working on fixing that
     
  21. Mr Skills macrumors 6502a

    Mr Skills

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    #21
    Despite all the other problems you are having, THIS is the one that makes me mad on your behalf. The black screen thing - well if it was just that then maybe there could be some unforseen problem. But getting the basic installation wrong so it's throwing random files everywhere? Untidy installation always seems to be a sign of Windows-focused companies making shoddy mac versions.
     
  22. RichardI thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #22
    Nah, I've had no luck at all. Tried the force quit process to no effect. :mad: There has been no reply to my post over at the EA forum.
    Seems to me, since so many others are having the same issue, that this would fall under the category of "BUG". :(
    I have heard that EA is the Microsoft of the gaming industry...

    I find it frustrating that there doesn't seem to be any way for me to directly contact EA. I have a game on DVD which I paid for that doesn't work at all - not even badly. I assume I can get a refund, but from whom? Anyway, I'll just wait to see if EA does anything about this for now..... I don't seem to have any other choice. If anyone finds a solution, please share it here.

    Rich :cool:
     
  23. jasdelta Guest

    #23
    Rich,

    This is from a post up earlier in this thread. Have you tried to call themat this number?

    1 650 628 1001

    If you bought it using a credit card, you should be able to get a refund. Did you buy it from Amazon.com?


    Jim
     
  24. jasdelta Guest

    #24
    Rich,

    Have you tried posting here?

    http://forums.ea.com/mboards/category.jspa?categoryID=134

    Jim
     
  25. RichardI thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #25
    He he. If you check the posts there, you might recognize one of the UserID's...;)
    Yep, I did. And, I think I'll wait a while before I actually ask for a refund, I really want this game to work.
    I'm going to call that number though...

    Rich :cool:
     

Share This Page