WoW Cataclysm and my macbook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by gfc, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. gfc macrumors newbie

    May 15, 2009
    Ok i have Macbook 13' (not pro)
    2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M with 256 MB VRAM

    So am i gonna be able to play the game on this?
  2. cluthz macrumors 68040


    Jun 15, 2004

    25 man raiding at 85 might push your machine a bit hard, but lower some settings and you'll be fine.

    Upgrading to 10.6 is only $29 btw, might be worth it.


    Mac® OS X 10.5.8, 10.6.4, or newer:
    - Intel processor
    - 2 GB RAM or higher
    - 25.0 GB available HD space
    - 4X DVD-ROM Drive
    - Broadband Internet connection

    *Note: Due to potential programming changes, the Minimum System Requirements for this game may change over time.

    Recommended Specifications
    Mac® OS X 10.6.4 or newer:
    - Intel® Core™ 2 Duo processor - NVIDIA® GeForce® 9600M GT or ATI Radeon™ HD 4670 or better
    - 4 GB system RAM
    - Multi-button mouse with scroll wheel
  3. gnychis macrumors 6502

    May 24, 2009
  4. Margaret Minor macrumors newbie

    Nov 10, 2010
    Yes, I think all computers can play wow. WoW do not need a high Configuration requirements. Have you preordered it?
  5. Cboss macrumors 6502

    Dec 11, 2008
    You'll be able to play it fine. It runs on my Macbook with an Intel X3100 graphics card, which is much worse than yours. You'll have to set most every setting to minimum in large raids though.
  6. gangan macrumors newbie

    Nov 10, 2010
    CATACLYSM'S System Requirements

    WORLD OF WARCRAFT CATACLYSM'S System Requirements:

    Operating System: MicrosoftWindows 2000/XP/Vista
    Processor: Intel Pentium® III 800 MHz or AMD Athlon 800 MHz
    RAM: 512 MB or more of RAM
    Video Card: 32 MB 3D graphics card with Hardware Transform and Lighting, such as NVIDIA® GeForceTM 2 class card or above
    Hard Drive Space: 6.0 GB available HD space
    Online/Multiplayer: A 56k or better Internet connection

    You will konw detail that login website.
  7. gfc thread starter macrumors newbie

    May 15, 2009
    Nope, not yet. Thats why i have posted here, cause i was wondering will am i be able to run it properly (without settings on high ofc).
  8. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Jan 16, 2008
    You need to upgrade to 10.6 and patch it to have all graphics features in Cata available. Certain features don't work if your at 10.5 or below.
  9. LOLaMac macrumors regular

    Jun 2, 2009
    How is your machine now in the Northrend zones? In ICC25? How it handles these areas is a good indicator on how it runs in the old world when Cataclysm comes out. Although the zones are changing, it's not like there will be all new, super high poly count mobs, and the textures, from what I've seen, are not appreciably better than the Northrend areas.

    If you can comfortably handle the content in WotLK, you should be ok in Cata; If it's borderline, then you might want to think about upgrading, or live with dialing the settings down from your current config.
  10. gfc thread starter macrumors newbie

    May 15, 2009
    I had no problems at all during the WotLK, only in dalaran i have lots of lag during the evenings.
  11. FullCollapse macrumors regular

    Oct 31, 2006
    Oneonta, NY
    the graphics requirements were changed in the latest patch (4.0.1). if your computer runs the game acceptably now, you should be fine for the expansion.
  12. gfc thread starter macrumors newbie

    May 15, 2009
    Did they? Hmm haven't noticed. Ok thanks for your help guys, lets wait and pray i can run it smoothly and level up my druid :D:D:D
  13. mguasch macrumors newbie

    Jan 26, 2011
    Macbook and Cataclysm

    I have the exact same computer as you and I play perfectly. Just set the settings down to "fair" and you can raid easily :)

Share This Page