WoW - EHD - disadvantage for BGs?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by tkjazzer, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. tkjazzer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #1
    EDIT: WHAT about the "new" built in voice feature (wasn't around when I quit previously) - will I have a problem with that with WoW on the EHD???



    Hi, I'm thinking about only installing WoW on my Western Digital Passport and playing through my USB 2.0 on the my MacBook Pro.

    I'm wondering if I will have performance issues. Will I be able to PvP as well as if it were on the native HD?

    I used to play WoW addictively, but now I'm trying to restart and just play on the weekends for fun in a limited amount of time. Thoughts on performance on EHD??
     
  2. sangosimo Guest

    sangosimo

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #2
    you are going to see alot of lag when you computer loads textures and models form the external hard drive
     
  3. tkjazzer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #3
    but once the BG or instance is loaded, shouldn't it be fine?

    EDIT: and what about the "new" voice communication feature? When I quit, everyone was still using ventrillo and the voice built in was not yet part of the game. If I install wow on to the EHD, how will the voice feature be affected? can I like move that part of the installation to the native hd to prevent major lag?
     
  4. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #4
    It'll be fine. Shouldn't affect battlegrounds at all.
     
  5. tkjazzer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #5
    will i still be able to use the built in voice feature with the game installed on the EHD?
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    But if you're not hardcore like me, I played Wow on a mac min G4 and an iPod. Just sayin'...:p
     
  7. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Why would it affect the voice feature? The only thing you're going to notice keeping WoW installed on the external is slower loading, and you're right that once the instance is loaded you probably won't have any problems.

    And on your other question about built-in voice chat vs. Vent, I've not come across anyone using the built-in one,but then, the only chatting I do is will my guild and we have a Vent server. The built-in chat is nicely integrated, but too low quality to be useable.
     
  8. tkjazzer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #8
    Did ventrillo ever get around to making the codec more compadible with Macs? I remember months went by where my guild's ventrillo codec was not compatible with my mac.
     
  9. Echinda macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    #9
    You won't have any problems with the built-in voice because of your external harddrive. Once WoW is running, I'm pretty sure the voice application doesn't have to grab data from the HD in any intensive way.

    As for vent, the only compatibility issue I'm aware of is I think you need to make sure your guild's vent server supports the speex codec. My guild's server just worked out of the gate so I've never experienced the issue, but I've heard that if they don't have speex installed it is an issue.

    I use the built-in voice all the time, though. A friend and I will just form a party while I'm PvEing and he is PvPing and chat to each other while we're online. Quality isn't as high as ventrillo's but it's private which is a big plus (we've been friends since elementary school and don't necessarily need guildmates listening to us chat about our lives) and there is no need to mess around setting up a server. I often just use some headphones and my Macbook pro's internal mic (rather than wander around and figure out where I left the headphones with the built-in mic) and it works fine.
     
  10. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #10
    Vent works great on a Mac. However, the server needs to be running the mac compatible codec (the codec works well for both macs and pcs).
     

Share This Page