Wow.. I love my iMac.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ToM-RSC, Jul 24, 2010.

1. ToM-RSC macrumors member

This is a bit strange but, well, things are strange.

I've been using a MacBook since early 2008, and 2 days ago (Thursday) it went to Apple for repair (The fan had died), and so I began to use my iMac properly -- over the past 2 years or so I've had it (It's a 1.7gHz White C2D), it's been rarely used, only as a backup computer for when something doesn't work right (I'm a developer, so I like to use multiple environments for testing and debugging, too), or for use by other family members.

But since this is the only other Mac I have, I now realise how much I actually love this iMac, and has made me seriously consider my next purchase to be a 27" (Or possible refresh-equivalent) iMac, instead of a new MBP 15".

I think because I originally started on my MacBook, I was grown to it, and never really wanted to leave that environment I had setup for casual usage, however now that I am using my iMac, it actually feels a lot more comfortable to use (I sit at a desk with my MacBook anyhow).

Has anyone else switched from MBP to iMac as their primary computer, and what are the pros and cons in the long term usage?

2. bolen macrumors 6502

bolen

I'm looking to replace my MBP with the upcoming iMac, perhaps not right at the refresh.. but eventually. The main reason is that my situation has changed quite a bit since I bought the MBP.. and now it's sitting on my desk 99% of the time. Having the laptop compromises when not utilizing its benefits is just a waste.

So, replacing the 15"+20" setup with a 27"+20" setup will be nice, getting more power and less noise when under stress. Looking forward to the iMac refresh! :D Just hoping to see any of eSATA/USB3/FW3200 or a simpler (warranty proof) way to exchange the internal disk.

3. Zelnaga macrumors regular