Wow, it's done already?

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by iBookG4user, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I just got Verizon FiOS installed today and subscribed to a vidcast and decided to download 8 episodes and went back around five minutes later and they were done. I thought "Wow, it's done already?". Being able to download at almost 2MB per second is awesome with all the vidcasts that I subscribe to. This makes my old 1.5 mbps DSL line look so slow it's funny. And the Verizon guy said that we might get a speed bumb to either 20mbps down or 25mbps down within the next 6 months :). I like FiOS internet, though when we went with FiOS TV it wouldn't allow our TiVO to work anymore :(, I personally like TiVOs better than the Verizon DVR, too many buttons on the Verizon DVR remote.
     
  2. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Congrats on the new FiOS. I told my mom about it, as our ISP is rather slow and unreliable sometimes. She was open to the idea, but still thinks its called Verizon Files. :) Do you know of a list or site that shows what areas can get the service?

    Also, do you have to have TV through Verizon too, or just the internet? Our cable tv is good.
     
  3. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #3
    I wish we had FiOS... my aunt and uncle have it and it's almost too fast. (Not really)

    The remote thing reminds me of this:
     
  4. fistful macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #4
    Why can't you people with FiOS keep it to yourself? :mad:

    (I'm just jealous cause I can't get anything faster than 56kbps here)
     
  5. iBookG4user thread starter macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    We also have TV through Verizon. We went with the Triple Freedom package, so it came out to something like $142 per month for Phone, internet, and TV. Check here to see if you can get FiOS.

    'Cause it's just so good you have to share :p.

    You might try seeing if you can get internet through satalite.
     
  6. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #6
    Do you really have 2 megabytes per second download speed or did you mean to use a lower-case "b"? :)
     
  7. iBookG4user thread starter macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    Yes, I really meant 2MB per second, because you see if you divide what I have (15mbps down) by 8, you come out to roughly 1.9 which is remarkable close to 2MBps, so I just put that you can download at almost 2MBps. (FiOS doesn't have an option for anything less than 5mbps anyway.)
     
  8. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #8
    I was about to get all jealous, then I realized I'm not that far off. I have Cox HSI, and average 12 Mbps down (paying for 9), which is a 1.5 MB connection. I guess I can live with that... :p
     
  9. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    bah, 5 mbit cable here :(

    STL will probably never get FiOS. We're not a Verizon area anyways. ATT will keep pushing their DSL (and still never get it out to my neighborhood in the middle of suburban St. Louis :rolleyes:) and Charter will keep pushing their crappy, unreliable, overpriced, slow cable.

    Seeing what other people pay for double digit speeds, and then seeing what we pay for 3mbit (we're on a "free preview" of 5 mbit. IOW, "get used to these speeds and upgrade when the preview's over"), about $45, can be quite upsetting.

    Of course, Charter does have cheaper rates to put them in line with the competition, but we can't get them. I went up to their office yesterday to exchange one of their crappy digital cable boxes that suddenly died (fortunately, that's 5 minutes from my house. Their crap is always dying on us, whether it's a digi box or our modem. We can avoid the "tech will arrive between 9 and 5 on some date 3 weeks from now" mess when stuff breaks), and one of the employees was talking to the other and mentioned a package about $19.95 for 3mbit for a year. I heard this and immediately asked the girl who was exchanging my box "Can we get that promotion?". She said no, it's for new customers only. Here I am thinking "What the hell...new customers get a nice discount, and we've been with this company ever since they came into existence...when they bought out our old cable company back in the early 90s, and they charge us more than twice as much?" Of course, the only thing stopping us from breaking that loyalty streak and telling them to shove their service up their arse is because AT&T apparently doesn't believe there's a need for upgrading our neighborhood (in suburban, upper class St. Louis, not Bumf**kville USA) to handle DSL.

    Damn you FiOS people :p

    [/rant]
     
  10. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
  11. iBookG4user thread starter macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    We had that happen when we were with Dish Network a couple years back, when we called all we got was the "Sorry, it's for new customers only.", so finally my dad said "We just switched over to DirecTV." after that they offered us all the deals that they were offering the new customers. That works, and then the "I'd like to cancel my account." call usually works too.
     
  12. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #12
    We have HughesNet [formerly DirecWay] and sometimes, like right now, it's good. We have the ProPlus Pack, so we have speeds of up to 1.5MB per second.

    And other times...it's slower than dial-up. Literally. :eek:

    Where we are, we are not eligible for cable internet....
     
  13. iBookG4user thread starter macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    You mean mbps, right? I didn't think that satellite went up to 12mbps. I was just checking it the other day to see if my older sister could get anything faster than her terrible cable connection that she has.
     

Share This Page