WOW on a MBP?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by WannaBMW3, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. WannaBMW3 macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #1
    Just bought my first ever mac tonight...hehe...just wondering if my config is good enough to run WOW on my MBP

    15"
    200GB HD 7200
    4GB Ram
    2.6Ghz Intel Core Duo
    Matte Display
    Wireless Mouse

    Also, can you use the zboard keyset for wow on the MBP? Thank you guys!
     
  2. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    You missed the graphics card, but reading your signature i'm sure the 8600M GT will be good enough for WOW.

    I don't use a wireless mouse though, I find that it causes slight dropouts.
     
  3. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #3
    Oh I c...thanks. what do you use for WOW?
     
  4. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    Just a standard 2 button optical mouse.
     
  5. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #5
    Oh...thought i was missing something special. I ran WOW on my PC with the original zboard keyset and a wireless mouse (ms optical), but this was when the game first came out...I couldn't afford to play so much ;) the monthly price wasn't a problem, it was so freakin addicting!
     
  6. stomer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #6
    How do you manage with only 2 buttons? My mouse has 9 buttons, and I don't know how I could be effective with any less. I'm a mage, and I've never played any other classes so I don't know if that's got anything to do with it.
     
  7. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #7
    Lol, WoW plays absolutely fantastically on the new MBP's - mine's the 2.4 SR from before the latest bump and, wow, it's just amazing.

    FWIW I usually play using nothing more than the laptop itself. Yes, swimming can be a little fiddly, but everything else is fine. I use keyboard shortcuts for all of my spells (mage & priest, two bars, using alt to get the second one) and have auto-loot switched on, plus the MBP's multi-touch trackpad trickery on.

    If you must use a mouse, I agree that wired is better.

    Just note that when playing WoW the MBP will get very, very hot - I can just about play with mine on my legs if I'm wearing thick jeans and balance it just right.
     
  8. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #8
    Just do, suppose its what i'm used to.

    Its like gaming consoles and first person shoot-em-ups using a gamepad controller, can't get the hang of that, much prefer the old mouse and keyboard combination for these type of games.
     
  9. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #9
    LOL...sweet.

    Yeah I probably invest in a wired mouse as well. I only got up to a 28 ( i really wanted a mount..lol) so yeah I stopped pretty early but boy was it fun!
     
  10. joemama2413 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    No, you need a glossy display for it to work.
     
  11. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #11
    It has plenty of power to run WoW well, however there is a bug with some Intel machines right now (including on my 15" 2.16 GHz MBP) where the game will stutter all the time, even though the frame rates are fine. It's very annoying. Whether the bug is on Blizzard's end or Apple's, or a combination of the two, is a mystery.
     
  12. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #12
    why would glossy make it work?
     
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    he's making fun of you... :(
     
  14. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #14
    He is joking, but I thought it was pretty funny. Why did you put "Matte Display" as pertinant information? ;) One thing that might help is a portable USB numpad. I love using the numpad for WoW for almost everything because it's easier for me to find the keys in that grid configuration. With modifier keys you can get several dozen mapped keys on there including movement.
     
  15. greendayfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #15
    lol i have the 15" 2.2 ghz with 2 gigs of ram and ive gotten up to 100 fps in some cases. it runs amazing. the only con is the heat. it kind of scares me sometimes.:D
     
  16. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #16
    HAHAHAHA...guess I thought it was important to put that down...HAHAHAHA...guess that's why it says macrumors newbie :D
     
  17. footballplayr69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #17
    Will easily run

    I have an eMac with 800MHz G4, 768MB RAM, 32MB GeForce 2 MX and it runs fine at about 15FPS. Not as good as it could be, but very playable. That comp is over five years old, runs great still today. But I bet that it's about the minimum, the processor is below the minimum requirements, and video card is right at the minimum. Shows WoW will run on anything.
     
  18. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #18
    Nice...thanks bro! :cool:
     
  19. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #19
    If the MacBooks can without problems, than the MacBook Pros sure as hell can.
     
  20. WannaBMW3 thread starter macrumors regular

    WannaBMW3

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #20
    Yeah I hope so...lol
     
  21. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #21
    /begin rant
    <Please, (PLEASE!) search the forums before posting. There have already been a bajillion "WoW on a [insert random new Mac here]" threads.If a game requires a 933 MHz G4 with 512 MB RAM and ANY 32MB NVIDIA or ATI video card, a 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo with 4 GB RAM and a 256MB GeForce 8600M GT will obviously, (OBVIOUSLY!) be able to run it. Honestly, if WoW ran smoothly on Powerbooks 3 years ago, how badly could a brand new Macbook Pro possibly do?! >
    /end rant
     
  22. StopStand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #22
    Ditto.

    Although, if you want to save on home heating this winter, you're set. :)
     

Share This Page