WoW on Leopard performance is worse?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by phytonix, Nov 10, 2007.

  1. phytonix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #1
    I have iMac 24" 7600GT, and I used to have 60fps in Window mode under Tiger. Now it is only around 30s.

    I also noticed a significant CPU use decrease in Leopard when running WoW. And the CPU usage is not changing be the WoW windows be in focus or not.

    So I am assuming WoW is not using all the resource it could so it is slower?

    Anyone else have also experienced a drop in FPS?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #2
    I personally haven't seen the FPS drop, but I have seen the CPU drop...

    One thing to point out is that WoW is very GPU-bound. It /shouldn't/ be eating a whole 100+% CPU.
     
  3. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    I've had no problems with WoW on Leopard. It's running perfect for me.
     
  4. toughboy macrumors 6502a

    toughboy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Izmir, Turkey
    #4
    Same here.. I have no problems/decrease in performance running Leopard and WoW with PowerBook G4 15" 1.33GHz/1GB/80GB/ATI 9700
     
  5. kinetik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    WoW has been running better in Leopard than it had been on my 15" 2.2ghz SR Mac Book Pro with Tiger... I can now use all vertical shaders, full screen glow and death effects without any problems. Also all quality sliders are maxed with the exception of terrain distance, which is about halfway. Really happy with the performance and "look" of the game now - it used to be choppy with lockup issues under Tiger.

    I did a complete Erase & Install of Leopard, then installed WoW using downloads rather than my CDs. These downloads started off at v2.0 rather than retail 1.x, so maybe that helped somehow?

    http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/downloads/wowclient-download.html
    https://www.worldofwarcraft.com/account/download/clients/pc/bc-downloader.html

    I installed WoW, then Burning Crusade, then patched.

    Good luck!
     
  6. ich1ban macrumors regular

    ich1ban

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #6
    I hate you!! Just kidding.

    I just upgarded to Lepoard last night and been away from WoW since Feb. I guess I'm comming back to it now since you posted those links :p
     
  7. That-Is-Bull macrumors 6502

    That-Is-Bull

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    #7
    It's been a little slower for me. I used to stay above 80 FPS with the eye candy all the way up, now I'm usually around 50. Doesn't make much of a difference though.
     
  8. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #8
    This is consistent with the game becoming GPU limited.

    Tiger had a bug where on NV GPU, we could not do Glow and MSAA together. Some users turned up the MSAA setting but it was having no effect. Then they upgraded to Leopard and the MSAA setting started working... but GPU now goes slower.

    Reset glow and MSAA to off and 1x, then compare.
     
  9. AppleWoW macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #9
    2.3 Came out today with ZA which im currently doing, but in the patch notes I noticed that intel core 2 duo's should increase the speed of the game.
     
  10. gamerz macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #10
    Sorry to be a thread digger but....

    Has anybody upgraded to leopard without doing the full erase? If so what Framerates are you getting when playing WoW in leopard?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page