WoW on Parallels 3.0

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by crazycat, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #1
    Has anyone tried to install WoW on Parallels 3.0? if so i would really like to know how fast it is.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I realise this is a little off topic and not helping you answer the question but is there a good reason not to run the native Mac version?
     
  3. crazycat thread starter macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #3
    WoW does not look as good on a mac, i have it running on my MacPro with teh graphics on high and it still does not look as good as it does on a PC.
     
  4. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #4
    Believe me, it'll look worse in Parallels.
     
  5. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #5
    Really? :S I haven't done any side-by-side comparisons, but I think WoW looks just as great on OS X as Windows! I prefer to play on OS X.
     
  6. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    When I played WoW, I noticed a graphical and speed increase when playing in XP through bootcamp than when I played in OS X. XP allows the overclocking of gfx cards, and I think they are just generally better utilized by windows than os x.

    Oh, and WoW probably won't even run on parallels. There is a list of supposrted games, and it isn't listed. Half of the "supported" games don't even work.
     
  7. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Houston
    #7
    When running WoW in Mac OS, the full screen glow effect makes the frame rates drop significantly and frankly makes the game look worse. In Windows, the full screen glow effect has little impact on frame rates and makes the game look amazing. It looks like a completely different game. In my experience, running WoW in Windows produces a much better picture. However, the convenience of running it in Mac OS wins out for me. I really love being able to Apple-M to switch between windowed and full screen.
     
  8. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    At the very least, no one's going to be happy running WoW in Parallels (if it runs at all). If you're that serious about it, use Boot Camp.
     
  9. michael85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #9
    Ok, so everyones saying it wont run in parallels etc.. but no one tried it? x_x
    I really need to know it since this tool i have wont run in osx ;)
     
  10. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #10
    Let's put it this way, as stated earlier, if you don't like it in Native OSX you won't like it in parallels.

    IMO No one needs to try it to prove it. It won't look good if your machine won't do it well natively.

    Your going to run a game that natively on the host doesn't look that good with the graphics full up and run it in an emulated operating system that isn't running full blown speed and not to mention has limited graphics drivers and the entire system is piggy-backing off the host.

    I think your misunderstanding the whole concept of a virtual machine. It's not full blown even the graphics are scaled down. Even on an OSX system.

    I will say I have (for giggles and grins) ran a game in a VM of windows on a windows host that was/is (is since I still own it) very powerful compared to my iMac and it runs like SHEOT graphically and performance wise. It's not WoW but WoW won't be any different.

    Emulated... FORGET IT!
     
  11. michael85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #11
    well some ppl gonna hate me for it, but ill just use it to bot.. so wow,will be running minimized in parallels.
    if i wanna play, i run it in osx (wich looks fine imo)
     
  12. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #12
    A little off topic but, why is it when I run WoW in OSX I keep getting errors? The WoW error dialog box keeps popping up, every single time I close it, it pops up again. It doesn't really affect gameplay though it does hang the game for awhile sometimes.
     
  13. user13 macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #13
    In fact, I suppose it WILL work in Parallels - why not. As far as i know Parallels unofficially supports DX 9.0. And the looks of the game must be as good as on PC or via Boot Camp
     

Share This Page