wow on the new ibooks.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by trist, Mar 22, 2008.

  1. trist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #1
    hello, i'm new too the forums so sorry if it's in the wrong section. Im not sure where too post it but it's about gaming so think this will do.

    i am thinking of getting the new ibook. The one with 2.4ghz and 2gb ram

    just for specs:
    but the only thing from stopping me getting one is that i play world of warcraft. i'm in a raiding guild and i use ventrillo. someone from my guild was saying that gaming on a ibook would be bad. Since no ventrillo. that it runs unstable, ect...

    are there any players that play wow on a ibook? how is it running? can you run addons? (i read the guide but i'm still not sure about it)

    thanks for helping me. It's still allot of money for an ibook for me so i kinda want too be sure i can run it in a stable way :)
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
  3. trist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #3
    thanks for the fast reply. I do have one more question. I allready have 2 wow acounts. But i play on windows atm. do i have too buy wow again too install it or can i download is somewhere?
     
  4. DrBunsenHoneyde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    #4
    WoW works perfectly on a macbook. I am running a first generation macbook, 1.8ghz core duo with 1gb of ram and a 250gm hard drive. This macbook is also running the GMA950 not the GMA3100 or watever it is. I get generous fps pretty much everywhere apart from major towns where there is alot of npc's and ppl. I run instances and such on it fine also.

    you will not need to get another account just fine the client from somwhere. sorry i cant help with that though
     
  5. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #5
    The disks you have for wow contain the OSX client on them. They are dual install, meaning they can install both the windows and OSX version.

    No you don't need another account. Your accounts are not OS specific. Once you finish installing and updating your OSX client you can log in with any of your accounts.

    If you want to dual login (something I do often) you'll need 2 wow folders. Once one client is intalled, "Duplicate" the folder and create an alias for the 2nd wow launcher and you can run 2 wow clients at the same time.
     
  6. trist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #6
    thanks for the information :) gonna get mine next week. hope i can get used too it fast since i allways used windows.
    but thank you all.
     

Share This Page