WoW on the new iMac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Shepherd, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Shepherd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Has anybody run WoW on the new imac with its supposed "HD 2600 PRO"? I'm really interested in hearing how it does in terms of fps with various settings. If anyone has been able to toy around with this game on the new platform I'd be anxious to hear, as I've read benchmarks from other games but not many from WoW.

    Please include the resolution and graphics detail if you reply so we can get an idea of the iMac's potential with this game (screenshots would be great :D).

    -Shepherd
     
  2. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #2
    I'll have benchmarks of this game soon.

    Although I do have to reactivate my account, so it might be a week or so :)
     
  3. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #3
    I imagine it'll just fine in XP. Dunno about Mac OS.
     
  4. DopestGingah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #4
    Why would it be different? It is optimized for a Intel Mac.
     
  5. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #5
    On my MBP CD, WoW ran at about twice the frame rate under bootcamp vs. OS X. I did my tests about two weeks after BC was released.
     
  6. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #6
  7. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #7
    I don't play WoW anymore but when I did there was barely a difference between OS X and XP on my iMac. I have an Intel Core Duo 2 Ghz, with 2 GBs of RAM and the upgraded 256 VRAM. I think you'll be perfectly fine with the new iMacs processor and graphics card. I would get about 25-35 FPS in Ironforge with settings near max.
     
  8. Shepherd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Well that's good to hear. I'm hopeful that the new iMac will be at least as powerful, and 30fps (in lagforge nonetheless) is more than playable for WoW imo. I've crawled along with an old G4 iBook at 12fps max, so I'm sure whatever I get with the new machines will be a breath of fresh air compared to that.

    -Shepherd
     
  9. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #9
    http://www.barefeats.com/imacal3.html

    [​IMG]
     
  10. DopestGingah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #10
    Yeah your wrong. See mkaake's post.
     
  11. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #11
    Atleast on my MBP with 8600m GT I get atleast 20% higher FPS on bootcamp!
     
  12. lordjonny macrumors regular

    lordjonny

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #12
    it is awesome on the new imac especially compared to my macbook lol
    standard 20" spec with 1gb ram. i get a least 60 fps minimum and that goes up to 120fps in not so busy areas. im gonna get 4gb ram when i get payed;) that will be gd also need to try it in parallels soon but it is really gd no worrys about performance, and about the "pro" chek the 2600xt? thread for reassurance :D
     

Share This Page