WoW on the new MBP 13"/15"(2011)

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by macthismacthat, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. macthismacthat macrumors member

    macthismacthat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Macedonia
    #1
    Has anyone tried this and what are the settings and the fps?
     
  2. hambone5605 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #2
    Hope it works after clean install


    Yeah i just bought the new 13" MacBook Pro ($1199 Core i5). I installed WoW from battlenet and it wouldnt run, just went to a black screen. I deleted it, and am currently installing from Disk.

    Will update soon as I know more..
     
  3. macthismacthat thread starter macrumors member

    macthismacthat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Macedonia
    #3
    Please do that because I'm interested in the 13" and 15"(low end) but I need some feedback on WoW,Starcraft 2(hardly,I doubt it).....because some say that the HD3000 is better(worse) than the 320M,only time and people will tell. Also please post if it's heating up(above 75C). And another question...Is 6490M(256MB) better than the older GT 330M (256MB)
     
  4. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    Theoretically the 330m should be faster than the 6490
     
  5. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #5
    Really? Apple's benchmarks say they're getting 3x performance from the beefier 6750M than last-gen 330M Macbook Pros. If the last-gen 330m is comparable/better than this gen's 6490M, then that's quite a graphics upgrade.

    (On second thought, the hi-end 15-inch Macbook Pro is $400 more, so you're paying mucho dineros for gaming speed.)
     
  6. 7254278 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Im curious if the intel graphics can top the 320M. . .
     
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    because the 6750 is just fine and an upgrade... the 6490 is not. Until we see real benchmarks we don't know... Apple could have pulled some tricks with the 6490 to make it faster... we already see it has GDDR5 which is odd.
     
  8. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #8
    I booted up WoW in OSX last night no problems. 2011 i7 MBP. I had a 320m previously and the Intel HD3000 seems to do the job just as well. A lot of stuff in WoW is still very much CPU bound so I feel the i5/i7 will help carry it. I only ran around in orgrimmar and my FPS cap is at 25 though, on purpose, but it still calculated max and avg frame rate in my titan performance addon. Average fps was around 40 running around orgrimmar. My settings were mostly fair/good and max on view distance with enabled projected textures. I will be "testing" more over the weekend when I play and I will also be recording a video.

    as for the GDDR5 comment above, often that is included now in GPU's especially to make up for decreased bus speeds which the 6490 is at 64bit bus, which is pretty damn weak. I've more commonly seen GDDR5 paired with a 128bit bus. But I'll hold off saying anymore until someone benches one of these guys.
     
  9. macthismacthat thread starter macrumors member

    macthismacthat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Macedonia
    #9
    Thanks for the update,please do add some thoughts and numbers over the weekend on this thread about the heating and the fps,if you try some other games that is.

    And if anyone has tried WoW with the lower end 15"(2011) please share your experience.
     
  10. aznguyen316, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

    aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #10
    No problem OP. Here's my video. I recommend watching it through as I give some numbers about temps, fans going up/down, just some general narrative and fps numbers =)

    my WoW gameplay video on 2011 13" MBP


    *edit* uploading a 10man BH raid pug run, will link in the morning. It ran great btw.
     
  11. macthismacthat thread starter macrumors member

    macthismacthat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Macedonia
    #11
    Thank you.

    Anyone here tried WoW on a 15"(low end) 2011. Type in the numbers.
     
  12. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #12
    I'm still wondering if I should update my early 2008 MBP with a 13" if games run ok, if not I might hold off a year and buy the next model 17".

    Any ideas?
     
  13. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #13
    What's so special about GDDR5? : pleads ignorance : :eek:
     
  14. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #14
    it's faster ram. It's just the "newer" ram. It in some cases can make up for the slower bus speed. We see it in 128bit bus graphics but I'm not so sure it can help make up for speed of the 64bit bus we're seeing in the 6490. I'm sure it helps a lot for the 6750.

    Anyway, Here's my WoW 10 main video. Not the greatest dark recording, gotta figure that stuff out still.

    Cataclysm 10man raid MBP 13" i7

    note I cap my fps at 25, but it never drops from there.
     
  15. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #15
    On CoD 4:
    The 2.2 ghz Quad core i7 with 6750m gets 81 fps.
    The 2.4 ghz i5 with 330m gets 63 fps.
    The 2.0 ghz Quad core i7 with 6490m gets 51. fps
     
  16. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #16
    Is that the fans noise i'm hearing the background? :eek:
     
  17. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #17
    yeah I think that's what you hear when I mention it. At 6200rpm it gets loud! lol for example, the 7min mark. Is that what you're referencing.
     
  18. davelanger macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #18
    if you turn off/down sunshafting ( i think its called)and the new water effects it should run fine. those can really kill your fps
     
  19. iMouse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Boardman, Ohio
    #19
    That is quite interesting that WoW will not allow you to use the slider to adjust video settings.

    It either sounds like WoW doesn't completely support the Intel HD 3000 yet, the HD 3000 drivers are junk, or there are certain features that are available on ATI/nVIDIA GPUs that are not available on the HD 3000.

    After looking at several sites that benchmark GPUs, I'm getting the impression that the HD 3000 just doesn't support some shader function APIs.

    For example, in GPU benchmarks on several sites (such as notebookcheck), the HD 3000 bests the 320m in FPS in games set to low resolution settings. As you increase the image quality, FPS on the HD 3000 drops VERY quickly while the 320m has a more gradual drop in FPS.

    Could the HD 3000 be compensating for missing shader function APIs by rendering them in some inefficient way such as software rendering? There's also the possibility that for what the HD 3000 cannot handle, it is dropping to the CPU.
     
  20. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #20
    It won't let you turn up the presets settings but you can still turn up the settings individually. As for the shader thing, I'm not sure about although I did see some textures being rendered oddly. I think as drivers get better, things will get better. Considering all SB users will have these graphics options available to them. I know Blizzard seems to be on the ball on getting user feedback with the HD3000's on their forums.
     
  21. macthismacthat thread starter macrumors member

    macthismacthat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Macedonia
    #21
    Anyone with 15"(lower end) playing WoW, post your fps numbers and heating here.


    Many thanks to aznguyen316 on his 13" feedback. Great job, posting your video on youtube.
     
  22. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #22
    GDDR5 is more than twice as fast as GDDR3. GDDR5 Is quad data rates instead of double data rates in the GDDR3. Lets say you have 1000Mhz GDDR3. The actuall frequency is 2000MHz, hence *double data rate*. But For 1000MHz GDDR5 it would actually be running at 4000MHz QDR(quad data rate). GDDR5 is just more Memory bandwidth which can help with smaller bus widths.
     
  23. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #23
    no problem. comment, thumbs up if you like it LOL
     
  24. macthismacthat thread starter macrumors member

    macthismacthat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Macedonia
    #24
    Anyone tried 15" 6490M playing WoW??
    Heating.....FPS?
     
  25. GenesisNL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #25
    i bought the new mbp 15" lower end. and i say dont buy it. the graphic card is not that good. i was playing wow on ultra, everything on multisampling 16X. and altough i had around 30 - 40 fps average running around in stormwind and orgr. i could tell the gpu had it rough getting everything on the screen. i went back to the apple store and got the 15" high end mbp. that on the other end runs wow as smooth as it gets. I havent played for that long. But i noticed i had a fps increase when i run it in windows 7 via bootcamp.
    Now, i havent tried that with the lower end. but maybe that helps a little.
     

Share This Page