WoW patch 3.3.3 broke a lot of mac installs

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by QuantumLo0p, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #1
    Heads up:
    Well, thanks to Blizz again, the new3.3.3 patch has some issues but most important has seemingly broken many mac installs. PowerPC users and possibly specific graphic hardware users are taking the brunt of it this time and the WoW mac support forum is buzzing.

    As of late last night in the WoW mac support forum there was acknowledgment from Blizz that two main issues were the cause of most of this and it appeared the client side needs a fix. No eta was available. Perhaps there is a client update available as I write this. (there is no way in hell I will log into the forums from my work Windows computer, I don't quite trust the scans yet)

    I took a quick look for posts on this so maybe I missed one, sorry if I am starting another thread.
     
  2. Sayer macrumors 6502a

    Sayer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  3. LetUsHXCDance! macrumors newbie

    LetUsHXCDance!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #3
    Yeah mine works fine, i did it yesterday (obviously)
     
  4. hippo206 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #4
    All of the macs in my sig installed it perfectly.
     
  5. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Patch didn't break the game for me (Macbook Pro with 9400M), but I did notice a permanent 100 ms increase in lag :/ Used to have 50-70 but now it's around 160-180ish.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    It's freezing at the Northrend loading screen for me. If I log onto another character and go to an old zone first, then it'll let me log out and switch to a Northrend character. But if I try to access Northrend directly then the loading screen will progress to 100% and then just sit there.

    This game needs more testing...
     
  7. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #7
    That's happening on both of my PCs as well, so it's a cross platform bug.
     
  8. mrCide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    #8
    I found that updating all my addons and enabling loadout of date addons (something i generally usually do for every update) seemed to have fix the 100% stuck loading screen issue, same for my coworkers.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Thanks for that, I'll have to give it a go when I get home :)
     
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Thanks to Blizzard, my account is screwed up. And every time I contact them I don't get an answer, but get an email saying "We hope this solved your problem" blah blah blah.
     
  11. Plutonius macrumors 604

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #11
    As mentioned above, it's PPC Macs.
     
  12. Plutonius macrumors 604

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #12
    Note - If you have a PPC Mac and you are getting disconnected when logging in, do the following.

    1) Login as normal with your account name and password.
    2) The screen will say connecting and then success. When the screen says success, hit the escape key (it may take a few times to get your timing down).
    3) The server selection screen should show up. Wait 25-30 sec and then hit the enter key. You should reach the character selection screen without disconnecting.

    Give it a few tries and you should get in.
     
  13. QuantumLo0p thread starter macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #13
    Update

    From the Blizz mac forum, I have read some some post about the esc method getting them in but eventually get dc'd anyway.

    If I delete the wtf, cache and interface folders, I can log in but only to Hydraxis; Dawnbringer boots me out.

    UPDATE
    The last Blizz update I read (a sticky thread regarding 3.3.3 problem) said they have a patch that fixes the problems but they are testing it more before they release it. There was no eta though....*sigh*

    Hopefully this addresses all the issues and not just the two main mac issues.
     

Share This Page