WoW Performance Woes: OS X vs. Win XP

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by odinsride, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #1
    Hi all, I am having some problems running WoW in OS X, specifically in the Outlands. I recently hit level 58 and was able to finally go into the Outlands, but I was shocked and disappointed that the game became a slideshow pretty much. Even turning the video settings ALL the way down made the game barely tolerable.

    I went to XP via bootcamp to see if it was the same, but no, the game ran fine under XP - with all settings maxed.

    I realize WoW runs in Direct3d under XP and OpenGL under OS X, but it shouldn't be that drastic of a difference. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.

    For now I am forced to stick with XP to play WoW...which sucks.

    Anyone have thoughts on this?
     
  2. Keytachi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #2
    you play with the macbook or macbook pro? (since in your signyou have both listed)
     
  3. odinsride thread starter macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #3
    Sorry, this is with the Macbook Pro
     
  4. odinsride thread starter macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #4
    Also, I would say that almost any other area in WoW other than the Outlands is very playable under OS X
     
  5. nick004 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #5
    I play WoW on my MBP, one revision behind yours and it runs beautifully for me. I only ever play in OS X, although started playing XP.

    I'm not a frame rate freak but it runs much better than I need. Don't see why you would be having issues, unless your using your MB. Your MBP should be much smoother than mine due to the graphic upgrade.

    There must be something else wrong.
     
  6. Keytachi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #6
    i agree with nick, something else must be wrong. Try running a permissions and disk verifications. if anything shows as wrong, repair it and try WoW again.
     
  7. cc bcc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #7
    You didn't install an extra addon by any chance, at the same time as going to the Outlands? My MBP 17" 2.33 runs WoW just fine, in or outside the Outlands.
     
  8. Rydther macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #8
    on my SR 15" MBP connected to my 22" LCD, WoW runs great, in fact haven't booted my winxp machine since getting my mac

    must be some sort of config issue, I researched (not at home so dont have links) a few performance tweaks. Try that and the other suggestions here?

    do you use addons? Try disabling them and see if problem persists? I use a few and have no issues
     
  9. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #9
    Outlands run very well on my, macbook, there I said it. :)
     
  10. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #10
    Just to confirm, Hellfire Peninsula works fantastically on my 15" SR MBP. It's awesome. I hope you can fix your problem! :(
     
  11. Keytachi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #11
    odinsride, try to disable all your addons (backup your WTF folder if you dont want to loose the preferences), close all your applications, and run the disk/permissions verifications with disk utility.

    And now, a bit offtopic, WillJS what are your preferences? i have everything on low, with many addons (under 15MB) and i get a lousy preformance :S i use wow on windowed mode. how do you have it?
     
  12. odinsride thread starter macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #12
    I will try the things suggested here, thanks. I also read on the WoW mac forum that there's some issues with the SR MBP 1.1 video card update or something and they're recommending people to rollback to 1.0 - is this true?
     
  13. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #13
    Me too, it also runs very well on my iMac.

    Also I have found it really depends what realm your on, I have had characters on different realm and the performance varies significantly. In my experience the Asia/Pacific realm have killed my performance massively.
     
  14. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #14
    It runs very well in outlands on osx on my SR MBP but it runs much better in windows.
     
  15. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #15
    I play on full screen mode. Prefs set to default I guess (I haven't changed them). They look good to me. :) On a 17" monitor.. 1080x1024, so I'm not pushing that GMA950.

    http://sixpop.com/images/file/16660734.png


    That would make a difference. I play on a normal server, Aggramar.
     
  16. odinsride thread starter macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #16
  17. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #17
    Yes, I have been bitten by this bug as well, it's very annoying, basically making WoW unplayable. :mad: So I switched back to my old dual 2.0 G5 with creaky 64 MB Radeon 9600 Pro and the game runs great again. I had to dial down settings to medium-ish and cap the frame rate at 30, but it's smooth at 1280x1024. I knew there was a reason I was keeping that thing around. :cool:
     

Share This Page