Wow, some iPhone 5 cameras are GARBAGE! (and NOT purple flare issue)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thadoggfather, Oct 5, 2012.

1. thadoggfather, Oct 5, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012

thadoggfather Suspended

thadoggfather

My first black iPhone 5 that had hissing and buzzing in the earpiece I thought also took lackluster quality photos, especially compared to the 4S I remembered as well as my dad's 5. Specifically, in terms of sharpness, color saturation (severely washed out), and noise. Before you blame the photographer, I am an amateur photographer and I love it: buying lenses, SLRs, the whole bit. I won't go into it, but I know quality when I see it.

So I know a bit about photography outside of the Camera app is all I mean to say by rambling on.

I returned the phone and re-ordered a white two days later because I ended up preferring the white (i like that it reminds me of my white 4S, but more elegant). And it took photographs fine, phew.

My mom just got a 5, and I didn't give it my "OCD" rundown because I'm sure I'd find something, but she said right away the photos it took were washed out when she took it for a spin and sort of blurry.

I gave it a whirl, and it reminded me of taking photos when I had a Galaxy Nexus: by all means, not impressive. It also reminded me of the first black 5 I had. So it wasn't just my mind or lack of skills playing tricks on me,

I looked at the sensor on the back. It looks like its center point is protruded outward, like a bubble, whereas mine, my 4S, and my dad's 5 all have flush but recessed looking sensors.

WTF?? This is a major selling point of the 5, the camera, and I've now stumbled across two 5's that look worse than a normal 5, the 4S, and probably even the 4 (my mom said it looks worse than her 4)