Wow upgrades

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rantingrich, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. rantingrich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #1
    I just looked at the Processor upgrades for 2010 < MAC PROS on OWC! WOW! They sure are pricey! Might as well get a new MACPRO!
     
  2. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    How many new threads do we need on the same topic?
     
  4. macuser453787 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Location:
    Galatians 3:13-14
    #4
    105. :)

    Seriously though, I looked into that at one point and agree with OP. One would have to find a REALLY good deal on a used 2010 to break even on that processor upgrade vs. just buying it new from the get go.
     
  5. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #5
    I've got a Mac Pro with two of the 2.26Ghz Xeon. Is it possible to upgrade with the same processor board, and how high speed can I go?

    I assumed that upgrading the Mac Pro was impossible...
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Yes you can. There is a lot of information here.
     
  7. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #7
    Thank you for the link but what I was looking for was something that might show a more direct table that tells what I can go up to, and maybe talk me out of it, but give me hope, and some idea on what is possible.

    I don't use the Mac Pro much lately, and perhaps kicking it in the ass with an upgrade could put it back on the must use system list. I'll be involved in some heavy development soon, and might use it more then, but getting it revved up would help so I don't have to mortgage my soul to replace it.

    Thanks!
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Depends on if you have a 4,1 or a 5,1.

    The 4,1 upgrade is a lot harder because of the lidless procs and will be limited to Nehalem processors unless you want to do an unauthorized firmware update.

    Things are a lot better if you have a 5,1. Procs are the same as you would buy out of the box so you just replace the old ones, plus you can use Westmere quad or hex procs.

    I believe that you can use the following procs. Obviously once you've picked one you should verify before starting.

    4,1 Dual Proc:
    W5590 3.33 GHz quad
    W5580 3.2 GHz quad
    X5570 2.93 GHz quad
    X5560 2.8 GHz quad
    X5550 2.66 GHz quad
    E5540 2.53 GHz quad
    E5530 2.4 GHz quad

    5,1 Dual Proc:
    X5690 3.46 GHz hex
    X5680 3.33 GHz hex
    X5675 3.06 GHz hex
    X5670 2.93 GHz hex
    X5660 2.8 GHz hex
    X5650 2.66 GHz hex
    X5677 3.46 GHz quad
    X5667 3.06 GHz quad
    E5640 2.66 GHz quad
    E5630 2.53 GHz quad
    E5620 2.4 GHz quad
     
  9. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #9
    Just apply the darn Firmware to turn it(4.1) into a 5.1 and take your time to install both processors, it is easy 30 minutes. Done mine last month, from Dual 2.26 to Dual 2.93 and when the prices will drop on the X5675 3.06 GHz hex, I will simply do another processor replacement.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    Easy is a matter of opinion, skill, and luck. Anandtech, who are hardly noobs, busted a processor trying to upgrade their 4,1. At least we all can learn from their experience.
     
  11. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #11

    I've done it from the first shot, without experience but with the proper tools, I've seen Anandtech pics but the real help came from members on this forum such as FEINS. The only thing you have to make sure 100%, DO NOT overtighten the screws on the processors heatsinks:)
     
  12. Tutor, Jun 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012

    Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #12
    I performed the processor swap first successfully in mid-June 2009 (originally dual quad 2.26 GHz) [http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=713934], before Anand. http://blogs.computerworld.com/geekbench_reveals_next_3_3ghz_mac_pro_update Losing the warranty was not a concern to me.

    Following Flocarino's recommendation saves you cash. Following ActionableMango's recommendation saves you time and the expenditure of patience , and possibly a lot of money if you don't do it right. Because of the timing of my first processor swap I went the route Flocarino recommends because there were no Mac Pro 2010/5,1s then. Plus my first swap used earlier quad core X5580s.

    Here is the best Geekbench 2 score I achieved for X5680's subsequently placed in that Mac Pro 2009 refurb, after upgrading the EFI: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/422811 Here is about the highest Geekbench 2 score you can expect to achieve with X5690s in a 2009 or 2010 Mac Pro: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/422811 However, my WolfPack1 performs over 1.4x greater than the X5690s, with my dual X5680s. There were no X5690s in 2010 when I built my first WolfPack.
     

Share This Page