Wow vs diablo iii

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by JJ2YmX, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. JJ2YmX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #1
    This is kind of a funny but I would like to read some of your comments about this huge blizzard games in general (I know that Diablo III is not out yet but will be like WOW?) and how the performance will be in the new generation of apple laptops MBA and MBP
     
  2. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    They're totally different genres of game.

    I'd also expect performance to suck on any MBA, as well as the 13" MBP with the crappy integrated Intel graphics card.
     
  3. sinser macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #3
    WOW and D3 are different beasts.
    Blizz has already published the system requirements

     
  4. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #4
    wow: mmorpg
    diablo: hack n slash.

    this is what i think.
     
  5. Off1c3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #5
    I didn't get my MBP yet, but as an orignal D1 and D2 player, and from watching D3 videos and seeing what its like, its just a very super improved version of D2. A type of third person, top camera view RPG hack and slash. The only parts of WoW or an MMO in general you will see in this game (these features are shared across genre anyway) is custom gear, levels, grouping, instances, etc..

    As for the performance. From the MBP specs, CPU's should be fine as long as you have at least 4GB ram. For the graphics, the AMD Radeon HD 6750M on the 15" series is really your best bet. That card I have used and as long as you don't max out the settings on any modern game, you will do fine. The Medium-High range is usually what that card can handle for most games. Don't even bother with the MBA and a game like that :)
     
  6. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Just me that is baffled that it system reqs are much lower on OSX than Windows?
    GF 260 is twice as fast as 330M, same with 4870 vs 4670???
    Or do they just mean mac users doesn't care so much about performance and graphic quality


    Or is the game OpenGL optimized instead of directx
     
  7. JJ2YmX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #7
    Actually you will be surprise I was running Starcraft II and WoW in my MBA this morning and is pretty good =D
     
  8. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #8
    Yes but the end of the day it's all subjective and comes down to each individual's personal expectations. I wouldn't play those games on a MacBook Air.
     
  9. Lennyvalentin macrumors 6502a

    Lennyvalentin

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #9
    Actually, WoW doesn't suck on a Mac with Intel HD 3000 laptop provided you have plenty of RAM and don't go crazy with the resolution and draw distance. It runs surprisingly well in fact at 1280*720 on my Thunderbolt Display, or 1280*800 on the internal screen. (You need the RAM to avoid paging to disk, which is terribly slow if you have a harddrive-equipped Mac.)

    You have to realize the latest version of Intel graphics is much faster than any previous incarnation. While it won't win any gold medals by a long shot, it's more than serviceable in many games if you tune graphics settings correctly. So don't bag undeservedly on this thing, it works, and works quite well actually thankyouverymuch. :)
     
  10. oklaonion macrumors member

    oklaonion

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #10
    As another poster said, it all depends on expectations. I've been content running graphics on low in Blizzard games because they do such a good job making them look good on low settings. I actually bought my 2009 entry level MBP with integrated graphics in preparation for D3 ans SC2, ironically enough. I just didn't have the disposable income to give two games an extra boost. It runs SC2 just fine on low-medium and I expect D3 to be about the same. D3 will run fine on any recent Mac, but if you want to run High-Ultra settings you'll need to get choosy.
     
  11. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    How does WoW compare to Solitaire? Is the game play similar and is WoW as feature rich? I would also like to know if Doom 3 is as good as Angry Birds, I enjoy the game play of Angry Birds and heard that Doom3 was a good game as well, so maybe I would enjoy that as well.

    ;););)
     
  12. Off1c3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #12
    Solitaire is by far a bigger and much scarier game when compared to Doom 3. I usually let my 8 year old cousin play Doom 3 but I would never let him near Solitaire. I mean seriously.. you want the kid having nightmares all night???
     
  13. Hastings101 macrumors 68000

    Hastings101

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    K
    #13
    Wow, the system requirements for Diablo III seems a little higher than normal for a Blizzard game.
     
  14. DaveNinja macrumors 6502

    DaveNinja

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #14
    Diablo III runs on my iMac (the first 24 inch metal framed model, so a few years old; must be near the min. requirements). the graphics are probably at the lowest setting but it still is totally playable. Looks much better than Diablo II :) I'm sure it will look great on something newer.
    The game is lots of fun. the beta is short; like you can get through in 1.5 to 3 hours. I couldnt find any bugs
     
  15. rossip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #15
    "Force" from Force Strategy Gaming has the best coverage of the beta. This should give you an excellent idea of what Diablo III is all about.

    http://youtu.be/dHLzcl7IwxM
     
  16. Brandon0448 macrumors 6502

    Brandon0448

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #16
    Yes but the MBA can still play both of those games perfectly fine. Even if it isn't high settings it can still play it without any hiccups. I found the trick for playing WoW if you limit the FPS to 30 with mostly low settings it takes a huge load off of the poor integrated graphics.

    I assume the Air will be able to play Diablo III but don't expect much over low settings for the graphics.
     
  17. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #17
    Aren't those just the best mac video cards you could get, when the requirements were leaked?
     
  18. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #18
    You're missing my point and not undestanding what I said. I'm sure they can be played on an MBA. The point is those low graphic levels and frame rates are not acceptable to everyone including myself. You may be fine with it but I refuse to play games at their lowest settings and such a low frame rate. The game play experience includes having decent graphics and frame rate in my opinion otherwise it's just not worth it.
     

Share This Page