Wrapsol

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by happy2gomac, Aug 20, 2010.

1. happy2gomac macrumors newbie

OK so being a Macbook Pro Newbie I've searched on all the ways to keep scratches etc to a minimum. For the basics, I finally went to Fry's and bought the Wrapsol 17" cover. $30. That's fine. I went on Youtube and watched their guide over and over. Seemed easy enough.

I'm sorry but this was a pain in the arse and I've only done the bottom of the laptop so far! I'm sure most will say it's "user issues" and that may be the case, but this cover was a pain in the ass to get exact! I figured to start with the bottom of the laptop because with the holes it's easy to see how it lines up. But I couldn't get it exact after several tries!! Off a mm or two each time. Doesn't sound like much, but if it's off, it's off!! Especially the corners!! They don't seem to stay put no matter what. It's not nearly as easy as the host suggests on youtube!! In fact they suggest if you goof, then try again. BUT, if you try again, you must pull the entire shield up and more or less you will stretch it out if you do that. So it doesn't fit as well the next try.

SOOOOO any suggestions on getting this thing to fit correctly? How many times can we pull it off and try again? Without a doubt it stretches when I remove it. I believe in the product in that it will stop scratches. Once it's on, things will be fine. But putting it on is a pain and getting things sealed around the "feet" or "corners" seems quite difficult.

Sorry, just hoping those who've used this will have an inside guide. One person mentioned they could do it in their sleep. I can't imagine!! Seems like a great product once it's on. Just getting it lined up and sealed and the corners to stay on is my issue. Thanks for any input!!

2. diablo2112 macrumors 6502