Writing basic greasemonkey script?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by elbirth, Nov 11, 2009.

1. elbirth macrumors 65816

Perhaps there may be a simpler way to achieve this, but greasemonkey comes to mind for me and I've never written any scripts for anything before so I'm wondering if anyone can provide some help.

Simply put, I want to be able to overlay a button on a given webpage that, when clicked, retrieves the current URL, strips out a specific part, pastes the stripped portion into a new URL pattern and sends the browser to that new location.

For a little more detail:

I'm wanting to implement something on the browser-side that will make life easier for me and a few other editors at work. Say a page's URL form is as follows:

http://domain.com/folder/123456.html

I want to be able to strip the 123456 portion (the numbers won't always be the same, of course) and then have it paste it into a new pattern, say:

http://newdomain.com/newfolder/page=

The 123456 would be pasted after the equal sign and I would then be taken to the page "http://newdomain.com/newfolder/page=123456"

I've been poking around some and think perhaps the GET and POST portions here: http://wiki.greasespot.net/Code_snippets
    will be of use, but I'm at a loss for implementing this into the script

Thanks in advance...

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Here's what you can use after the button has been pushed.
    PHP:
    var url window.location// Get current page URL
    // See if URL ends with a numbered file and html extension
    // If so, replace with new domain and location
    url url.replace(/([\d]+)\.html$/, "http://newdomain.com/newfolder/page=$1");
    // Head to new URL
    window.location url;
    I'm assuming you figured out the button placement part and were just wondering how to handle the retrieval of the URL and formulating the new one.

3. elbirth thread starter macrumors 65816