Writing Scientific Papers on a Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by pinardc, Feb 20, 2012.

1. pinardc macrumors newbie

Hey guys,
    I've owned a Mac for many years now and I guess I would consider myself 'mac-savvy.' I am also a University student, and am conducting a research project in Parasitology this semester. At the end of this project, I will have to write a scientific paper - so my question is, are there any programs out there that will allow me to do this?

Currently I am downloading MacTeX - which I know has some decent layouts/templates for scientific papers - but I just wanted to know if anyone has used anything else for this style of writing (other than Word) or if there is something out there with a more simplistic interface (over TeX)

Thanks in Advance,
    Chris :apple:

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

The vast majority of scientific papers are submitted in Microsoft Word format. Popular among physical scientists and mathematicians is LaTeX. Some publications also accept WordPerfect documents.

Having said that, you are operating from a false premise. Virtually any application that can print text on paper can be used to write a scientific paper. That is so not the issue. The issue is what is accepted by the publisher. Read the submission guide in a copy of the journal(s) that you expect to publish your paper. You may also find these guidelines on the journals' websites.

Two additional words of advice:
    1. Do not violate the guidelines.
    2. Whichever format your publication requires, submit your paper only after you preview it in the native application for the format. For example--it may be OK to compose the paper in Pages. If you do, then do your final edits in Word prior to submission.

3. klaxamazoo macrumors 6502

If you are going the LaTeX route then I would advise using LyX. It is a good WYSIWYM wrapper for LaTeX.