wtf airport probs

Discussion in 'macOS' started by theman, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #1
    I've been hearing about airport problems around macrumors but never bothered to read any of the threads because I never had them.... until now.

    I have a SR MBP. 3 weeks ago I switched ISPs, and everything worked fine at first. I had WEP encryption set up for my network. About 4 days later, the connection stops working, even though it says airport is connected. I couldn't figure it out, so I went in and turned of my network encryption. Worked instantly. Then, a few days later, same thing. So I TURN ON encryption... it works. A few days later, same thing... turn OFF encryption, and it works.

    what the hell is going on here, what is this cycle of alternating security????

    could it be the router that's the problem? i went from cable to DSL and now I have an integrated DSL modem/router box. its kind of a piece of *****, but i have a PC laptop that doesn't seem to have the issue (although I don't use it too often).
     
  2. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    I might aswell join the club - only recently I have suffered from dropped connections with my MBP's AirPort. Really annoys me.

    Works fine, then sometimes the connection will just be dropped even though it says it is still connected to my Airport Extreme. I have to turn my MBPs AirPort off and then on and rejoin. Sometimes the problem reoccurs instantly.
     
  4. likwidplastik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #4
    Count me in. Just started acting up this week. Here's the strange thing about mine:

    My modem and wireless router is connected to a PC in another room. When I try to open Safari on the MAC, it can't access the internet (just stays looking like it's loading the page), but then my internet connection on the PC won't work. I know...sounds crazy.

    In short, when I try to use the internet on the MAC, it doesn't work and it also kills the connection on the PC. I have to go into network properties on the PC and "repair" the connection for it to work again. Any attempt to use the internet on the MAC will instantly kill it again.

    Everything was working perfectly until this week. I'm stumped.
     
  5. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #5
    mines been fine until a few days ago, airport keeps dropping and coming back on.
     
  6. iTim314 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    U.S.
    #7
    Funny thing is, I have Tiger yet I have the exact same issues. :(
     
  7. theman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #8
    hmm, i've had this darned thing for 4 months now with no probs. must be the stupid router then. are there specific routers that cause this?


    i'm sorry, but i just hate skimming through 100s of pages of thread...

    maybe this can be the new one. :)
     
  8. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #9
    I have nothing to catch up on myself. I do notice you like to link threads to threads you have linked to threads you have linked though.

    You have a huge thread of people deleting drivers, buying new routers, all kinds of crap. No one in this forum is going to tell me that after 2 years of solid service from my router that after updating my system with the software update on Leo I have to go out and BUY A NEW ROUTER!

    B.S. my router works just as good as it has flawlessly for 2 years. Apple, fix your screw up. I shouldn't have to.
     
  9. Mlobo01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Weehawken New Jersey
    #10
    well...

    The thing is the people start threads without really reading what already is being discussed, did you read any of the threads linked? there is some good stuff out there, and not just the redundant "I have that same issue too", I have not change my router at all myself, and if I'm linking these threads its because I think they are important to the matter at hand and there is a lot of good information on the networking issue, did you read my posts regarding connectivity? there are not just linked URLs, there is plenty of discussion on the Apple forums site that is well constructed as well, did you read that? did that help you? no, sorry to hear that but it may help someone else, there are plenty of mac savvy folks out there that are trying to help out and Im doing this to help since my network has no further issues, no drop outs, its WPA enabled, no connection loss from sleep or restart, great speed etc etc etc, Or we can just sit and wait for Apple's miracle upgrade that will cure everything, and I hope it does because plenty of users are having trouble, but I would dislike to make that famous upgrade and matters become actually worse. There is no one single cure for this malady but collectively we can nudge our way to stability and Im afraid unless Apple posts their titanic upgrade soon, what we have here is as beneficial as any upgrade, we can be pro-active and learn something or just be passive and just post:"OMG! I've experienced that too!"
     
  10. Mlobo01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Weehawken New Jersey
    #11
    One more thing...

    I've been using OS X since 10.0, and I don't pretend to know everything but I have seen plenty of issues with ALL iterations of OS X, there is no one version that has been trouble-free, This connectivity issue is a light-weight compared to some others that have come and gone, there has been plenty of fixing too, by me you or the other, and as I posted on the other forums, Apple does not read forums posts, they get their feedback from the reports generated by the system or from their developer teams, so all those posts that read:"Apple fix this" or "fix this or else Im switching back" go unregistered, do you honestly believe that the Apple engineers are going to stop their momentum so they can fix your connectivity issue? its not going to happen, they will arrange a fix within the next upgrade, the next upgrade deals with heftier matter like the Finder issue, time machine, system preferences etc. I've have seen many an upgrade in my experience and some of them did not address the issue that was most common, the fix came after a couple of upgrades later, do you see my joined date to macrumors? it very much tells you that I have read plenty and posted plenty, it does not make me know everything it just shows that I may be able to point in a good direction, thats all folks.
     
  11. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #12
    Well I am using 100% Apple hardware, therefore I should not be having any problems.

    My flatmates use Windows and have no problems, I'm on a Mac and I have loads...wtf?!
     
  12. Mlobo01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Weehawken New Jersey
    #13
    Routers are not stupid...

    It could be that certain routers and even the Airport stations require more detail info registered within them for Leopard, some are just basic enough, that you don't have to fuss over too much, in Leopard you have to be detail oriented. Do you have MAC filtering set up? what wireless version are you using G or N? do you have your Airport IDs registered in the router permissions field? WEP or WPA encrypted, what channel are you using? can you describe your set-up starting from the router down to your network settings?
    p.s. even though your mates are seemingly having less or no problems they are still prone to a cesspool of viruses ; >
     
  13. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #14
    My problem was solved by changing the channel and clearing the list of preferred networks in system preferences.
     
  14. Mlobo01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Weehawken New Jersey
    #15
    keychain...

    Ted400 reports the following: "So... a week later and still running. It looks like this problem is directly related to the permissions listed in the keychain as stated earlier. I was able to speak with a Apple Product Specialist today (after being on hold for an hour), and it seems that he agreed that that was the problem. He stated that when you upgrade you may have been asked to accept that ol' pop up box regarding the keychain access. If at any point you did not choose to accept ALL changes it could have changed the permissions on the keychain item for your network, thus causing the problem. I hope this solves the problem...we will have to wait and see."
    I did recently deleted all the keychains, keychainprefs.plist and in the keychain app, whenever you redo your settings go back and highlight the key for your wireless network and double click and under the Access Tab select the "allow all apps to access this key"
     

    Attached Files:

  15. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #16
    I did a clean install on a new HD without an upgrade and I have the issue. I noticed the problem after the last update, but some had issues before.
     

Share This Page