WTH is this - lol

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TnDan, Jul 27, 2007.

1. TnDan macrumors newbie

First post - good to be here!

I've got a new dual quad core here at work. WTH is the screen option where the screen goes opaque and all the widows downsize to show on the screen until you click on one. You get a little discription dialogue in the middle of the pane of what it is until you click on the pane/window. Then,it friggin loops over and over - I hate this! - lol.
    Sorry for the hillbilly question, but where do I turn this off? I can't find it anywhere. Doesn't help that I'm new to 10.4. Maybe that's not realevent, but I've never encountered this before.
    Thanks in advance!!!

2. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

psycoswimmer

3. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

It's Expose.

Go to System Preferences (under the Apple menu).

Select the Keyboard & Mouse options. If you are using a Mighty Mouse, you probably have Expose linked to the side buttons. Disable this.

Or stop squeezing your mouse! ;)

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

If you're doing it from the keyboard by accident (F9-F11, if I recall correctly?) then you might benefit from going to system preferences for now and going to keyboard & mouse -> keyboard, and toggling the option about what the function keys do (in one mode, you get things like Expose when you just press the keys; in the other mode, you only get them you press the keys along with Fn).

5. TnDan thread starter macrumors newbie

AH HA!!!

thanks all.
    My big friggin hands were the culprit- not to mention the expose setting for the side keys.
    Thanks guys.

6. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

Sdashiki

try the hot corners.

a flick of the wrist is all it takes.

7. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

Virgil-TB2

I have helped people through this little mini-nightmare dozens of times. :)

Am I the only one that thinks that it's a really odd choice for Apple to attach Expose by default to the side buttons on the Mighty Mouse?