www.applestoreipads.com - Know Anything About Them?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by BlackMax, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. BlackMax macrumors 6502a


    Jan 14, 2007
    North Carolina
    I'm in the market for at 32gb, Wi-Fi + 3g iPad and in the process of checking out different retailers online I came across this site:

    Has anybody heard of them or dealt with them? Their prices are ridiculously low, their process sounds shady and their website was just registered this month. I know what everyone is going to say... If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it is probably a duck... But I just thought I would ask.

    They are selling new 64gb (3G + wi-fi combo) Apple iPad for $750 and new 32gb (3G + wi-fi combo) Apple iPad for $500
  2. three macrumors 65816


    Jan 22, 2008
    Washington State
    Just looking at their site, makes me think it's shady. I wouldn't do it.
  3. appleguy123 macrumors 604


    Apr 1, 2009
    15 minutes in the future
    It's a scam. If you have to ask it usually is.
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Mar 26, 2008
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    If you have to ask it's probably not quite legit or an outright scam. I looked at the site and it's dubious.
  5. cmvsm macrumors 6502a


    Nov 12, 2004
  6. Plisar macrumors newbie

    Jun 25, 2010
  7. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Nov 4, 2007
  8. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816


    Apr 21, 2007
    White Mntns, Arizona
    If these iPads do exist from this site, my bet is they are probably stolen iPads.
  9. antibact1 macrumors 6502

    Jun 1, 2006
    The fact that you would even ask if this is legitimate, further reinforces my opinion that humanity is doomed.

    WHOIS information:

    domain: applestoreipads.com
    created: 25-Jun-2010
    last-changed: 25-Jun-2010
    registration-expiration: 25-Jun-2011

    That coupled with the site it redirects to : http://www.s333003577.initial-website.com/

    Seriously, why would you even ask. If you're going to try and order, how about you just give me the cash instead cause you aren't going to get an iPad.
  10. BlackMax thread starter macrumors 6502a


    Jan 14, 2007
    North Carolina
    If you read above again you'll see I have all the same concerns and beliefs about this site as you... But I've learned it never hurts to ask the question or seek out answers and truth. $250 savings is nothing to sneeze at these days and perhaps the guys running this site are just odd or excentric, but honest. Not likely, but perhaps...
  11. MacModMachine macrumors 68020


    Apr 3, 2009

    you preload the card, give them handling code on reciept (so they can apparently prove you have the funds loaded)

    they run to walmart with this code in hand, say listen i lost my card and i need you to void it off and give me another one, they only need the code....maybe they have fake reciepts or somthing im not sure.

    but walmart WILL reload these cards with just the receipts handling code.
  12. jtara macrumors 65816

    Mar 23, 2009
    At best, they are operating a "cash" business, and using the cards to avoid reporting income. They go to Walmart and by merchandise or get a cash refund.

    At worst (and most likely) as stated above, they are just going to use the code claiming they have lost their card. You are out the money, and you will never see an iPad, let alone mail them the card.

    The card has cash value. It shouldn't be sent through the mail. Period. That they ask customers to send a card with cash value through the mail is your FIRST tipoff.
  13. Consultant macrumors G5


    Jun 27, 2007
    Scam, unlike you like to part with your money.

    If you belive it has any truth in it, I got a bridge to sell you, at 99% off.
  14. surferchick2 macrumors member


    Nov 23, 2007
    Fidalgo Island, WA
    I flagged one of their listings on craigslist. Even though they say you'll get the iPad first, all they need is the code. Tell them you're in the area and you'll come pick it up with a cash paid Walmart card. lol
  15. kspang21 macrumors newbie

    Jun 28, 2010
    Do Not Use!!!!

    I was scammed at applestoreipads.com

    This is a FAKE site- it is not legit and it IS too good to be true!
    I reported the website and may have caught it in time. He asks for your activation # and when you give it to him, he takes it out of your account. He does NOT need the receipt or the original card that you bought when you put the money on the card. I got the activation code blocked before he took out the money from an ATM (even though he had already stole it by putting the money on his own card) and the Green Dot company is trying to track him down. I also submitted a formal complaint to the company he rents the website from and they are looking into the claim.

    PLEASE do not buy!

    It is a shame these kind of people exist in our world! I am learning my lesson and paying $200 more to get it from the ACTUAL apple website- please, do the same!!!

    P.S. You don't need to tell me, I am TOO GULLIBLE and NAIVE! haha
    Just don't want someone else to have to go through the trouble I am!
  16. rdowns macrumors Penryn


    Jul 11, 2003

    Come on man. You've been on this site 3 years and you think this is even remotely legit? I'm sorry, many people who get ripped off deserve it.
  17. BlackMax thread starter macrumors 6502a


    Jan 14, 2007
    North Carolina
    No, was just looking for someone with experience with them so I could get accurate information and it appears I found it with kspang21 above... I'm just sorry kspang21 got scammed. :mad:
  18. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a


    Aug 28, 2006
    In a Mac box
    Rule of thumb: If you are ordering online and it isn't https, be wary.
  19. CactusHawk macrumors regular

    Oct 9, 2009
    While I believe people should do some research before buying anything of this value (which it appears the OP is doing), I don't believe people who get ripped off deserve it. You should be careful...but you shouldn't have to be. Being careless does not justify crime.
  20. GinoDotCom macrumors regular

    Apr 7, 2010
  21. PCClone macrumors 6502a

    Feb 26, 2010
  22. mcdj macrumors G3


    Jul 10, 2007
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPad; U; CPU OS 3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/531.21.10 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.4 Mobile/7B367 Safari/531.21.10)

    First red flag...the lame domain name. It's one of those crappy domain names you see on ebay that dumb get rich quick schemers pawn off to dumber get rich quick schemers.

    Any site that has the brand name of something you want to buy in its domain name, but isn't actually owned by that company, is bound to be shady.

    Some examples...




  23. richpjr macrumors 68030


    May 9, 2006
    Hey, at least the op was researching before spending his money.
  24. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Nov 4, 2007
    yes, let's give him that at least.

    sorry for those that were caught in this scam.

    also remember, if it sounds to good to be true…
  25. hsotnicam8002 macrumors 6502


    Mar 13, 2008
    United Kingdom
    Web site is a dead parrot, defunked, deceased, popped its clogs, pushing up daisies, dead!

Share This Page