X-Plane 9 supports multiple monitors... how about multiple video cards?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thermodynamic, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. thermodynamic Suspended

    thermodynamic

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I have a 2009 Mac Pro w/ a single ATi 4870 video card. If I were to purchase a second 4870, would X-Plane 9 use both video cards and to their full rendering potential?

    Thx much! :)
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    No. Mac OS X does not support SLI or Crossfire.
     
  3. thermodynamic thread starter Suspended

    thermodynamic

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Thanks for the info! I asked at the Apple store and he said the game would work with two cards. :confused: :(
     
  4. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #4
    It will work, it just wont use both. :p
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Interestingly enough I've just been reading through the Apple developer documentation for other reasons and I can across an article discussing this very issue. From what I can tell it should be possible to use 2 graphics cards to render images but it would need to be alternative frames, this would though still increase performance as the cards could queue the next frame up while the other card is displaying its image. It might require some interesting code to get the image from the offline card to the online card though.

    Anyway back to the topic in hand, I very much doubt that X-Plane would take advantage of this anyway but it might be interesting to play around with it from an academic perspective.

    For those interested:

    https://developer.apple.com/mac/library/technotes/tn2008/tn2229.html
     
  6. thermodynamic thread starter Suspended

    thermodynamic

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Fantastic find, thank you kindly!! :) :)

    (though having just played X-Plane 9, it feels much faster, and with more visual detail, than Flight Simulator X w/SP2 (DX10-enabled) on the following hardware:

    * Vista ultimate
    * Asus P5Q mobo
    * 8GB RAM (DDR2-800 @ 4-4-3-10 CL)
    * Intel Q9650 at 3.6GHz (9x400MHz FSB)
    * Sount blaster Fatal1ty titanium
    * Intel GTX260 (o/c to match GTX280 speeds)

    My Mac Pro:
    * 8GB (DDR3-1066, CL rating unknown, 4x2GB modules)
    * 2.66GHz CPU (Nehalem)
    * ATi 4870 video (512MB DDR5)
     
  7. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #7
    I know Flight Simulator X w/SP2 works much better with direct x 9. They never really got 10 going. I have the opposite results with my Mac Pro. X-plane runs slower and with less visual detail in OS X. As compared with MS FSX under Windows 7 64bit. I was told my Nivida video card drivers for OS X are the problem.
     

Share This Page