X-Plane 9

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by maccompaq, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #1
    Just wondering about other people's experience with this flight simm.
    What graphics card are you running?
    How responsive is it?
    As I understand it, X-Plane is so powerful that it will max out any computer, no matter how powerful.
     
  2. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #2
    X-Plane loves video RAM. The more you have the better. Runs fine on my system (see signature), but X-Plane 10 will be a major improvement in graphics and performance
     
  3. maccompaq thread starter macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #3
    I have 256MB of 128 bit GDDR3 video RAM, and I can use it all needing more.

    Since X-Plane 9 is a fairly new version, I do not think Version 10 will be out this year. What have you been hearing?

    I know that a Core2Duo uses the 2nd core to load scenery in the background, but I am wondering if there is really an advantage with a quad core processor. I have my doubts, but I want to know for sure.
     
  4. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
  5. maccompaq thread starter macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for sending the link. The X-Plane Congress held May 23-24, 2009 was an eye opener. Austin stated that X-Plane 10 might be ready in 24 months, so we have a long wait ahead.

    I have only read page 1 of 3 so far, and I have not yet had an answer to my question: does a 4 core processor give any benefits over a 2 core. My opinion is that 4 cores will provide no benefit. Anyone have any conclusive evidence either way?
     
  6. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #6
    No idea, but observing my CPU while having X-Plane active shows that all 4 cores are getting used. I doubt that you'll notice any difference though. More RAM and VRAM however DOES make one... and I wouldn't take word on "the 24 months", expect it sooner. Fall 2010 is most peoples guess. Google around.
     
  7. maccompaq thread starter macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #7
    Are you satisfied with your 512MB of video RAM? Would I see a benefit using the same video card with 1GB RAM?
     
  8. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #8
    A) Yes.
    B) No idea, did not try it. I only use original Apple hardware components. But most likely you will notice slightly better performance.
     
  9. iMatthew macrumors member

    iMatthew

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #9
    On a new iMac 27" C2D using "Very High Settings" 2560x1440 (no Anti Alias)and everything else checked and the scenery options on default. I'm getting between 30 and 100 FPS depending on the complexity of the scene.

    Very happy with the performance and the game itself. My old MS Sidewinder FF2 stick works perfect in the game, that thing was sitting in my basement for years :)

    Graphics card = ATI HD 4670 (256)
     
  10. maccompaq thread starter macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #10
    I wonder how much better the i5 or i7 would be. Here's hoping someone will provide that info.

    I am running AntiAlias at 4X at 1920 by 1080 which is equivalent to No AntiAlias at 3840 by 2160.
     
  11. maccompaq thread starter macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #11
    To fully utilize X-Plane 9, I built a Core i7 Quad Hackintosh with a fast 256 bit 1 GB VRAM video card, 6 GB memory running a 23 inch 1080p monitor.

    I have all settings maxed out, and I get very good performance with high frame rates.

    This beast is waiting for X-Plane 10 that should be out in the second quarter of 2011.
     

Share This Page