x-plane on 2ghz imac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by iMaccore2, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. iMaccore2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Hi, I was on X-planes website today and saw they have the sim with scenery for the whole world for only 39.99, so I was gonna pick it up, but was wondering if it would run decently smooth on my early 08 iMac. Its a 2ghz Core 2 Duo with 1 gig of ram and an aTi 2400 128 meg gfx card. With low/medium settings, can I expect a decent frame rate(say 30 fps)?

    Thanks in advance,

    S.W.
     
  2. MacTrekkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #2
    Well, X-Plane 8 ran OK on my Mac Mini 1.42 G4 with medium settings. I believe that a 2ghz iMac will have no problem with X-Plane 9 :)
     
  3. iMaccore2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Did you have scenery installed or not?

    Thanks
     
  4. MacTrekkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #4
    it had an 80gig HD. I only installed North America scenery. The only time you need to worry about scenery slowing you down is when you set objects to INSANE and tell it to load new scenery in flight.
     
  5. iMaccore2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Thank you I just ordered
     
  6. MacTrekkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #6
    Glad to be of service, Sir!:D:D
     
  7. bobriot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #7
    Get more RAM....
     
  8. iMaccore2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Should I go one more gig or three more gigs?
     

Share This Page