X11 forwarding

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Khedron, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. Khedron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    Does anyone have a fix for it not working in Yosemite? Apparently the problem is OpenSSH rather than XQuartz.
     
  2. Khedron thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
  3. A4orce84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #3
    I'm not able to get this working in the final version. Anyone else having issues?

    Thanks,
    Asif
     
  4. A4orce84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
  5. twintin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    Not sure what you mean. Has worked for me since I first updated to Yosemite (I'm using it frequetly over a VPN connection to my work).

    What is you issue ?
     
  6. A4orce84, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014

    A4orce84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #6
    So trying to install some software on some linux systems, I use to be able to Xwindows / X11 to forward the setup wizards to my local Macbook on OSX.

    I no longer can do that, and it doesn't give me any meaningful errors on the server logs. I can forward the xwindows just fine to my windows box...and I was able to do it on OSX Mavericks. But since the upgrade, it looks as if it's broken.

    [aahmad@schnell ~]$ xclock
    Error: Can't open display: 10.0.142.136:0

    My IP is correct for my Macbook.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    --Asif
     
  7. NoBoMac macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #8
    Ok, all the stupid questions:

    Clean install or install on top of existing install?
    XQuartz installed?
    Xserver running?
    Did an xhost + on Mac to allow access?

    Folks have had success by reinstalling XQuartz.
     
  8. A4orce84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #9
    Answers below, in BOLD:

    Clean install or install on top of existing install?
    Exiting install, upgraded from OSX Mavericks.

    XQuartz installed?
    Reinstalled XQuarts this morning, latest version 2.7.7

    Xserver running?
    I believe so, is there a command I can run to confirm this?

    Did an xhost + on Mac to allow access?
    Yes, I ran the above command.

    I tried removing XQuarts, and reinstalling, unfortunately I got the same result. I also disabled my firewall completely. If you need any additional information, please let me know. Thanks!

    --Asif
     

Share This Page