X11 help needed

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Anorak, May 12, 2008.

  1. Anorak macrumors regular

    Anorak

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #1
    I just installed X11 for Mac OS X Leopard (currently running 10.5.2) and whenever I double click the X11 icon in Applications/Utilities, nothing happens. From what I've read, I should be seeing X11 in the dock, as well as an xterm window opening.

    Is there a step I'm missing? I just installed it off of the Leopard install disc.

    - Kyle
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    Did you restart? What happens if you try and run the command "xterm" from the terminal?
     
  3. Anorak thread starter macrumors regular

    Anorak

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #3
    Running "xterm" does nothing. However, in the Activity Monitor, I see that processes "xterm" and "X11" are running.
     
  4. iKwick7 macrumors 65816

    iKwick7

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Location:
    The Wood of Spots, NJ
    #4
    Just stumbled upon this thread and I'm actually having the same problem (running 10.5.4). I was running 10.5.3 but then upgraded today after I noticed X11 wasn't running.

    I'm trying to get FreeCiv to run on my iMac. :)
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Install X11 from your Mac OS X DVD. Then download and install the latest version of Xquartz. That will fix most of the bugs in the Apple X11 distribution.
     

Share This Page