X11 - Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by merc669, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #1
    Is X11 part of Leopard Installation or do you still need to install it from the original Installation CD? And if already installed is there anything I need to run to get it to run with program like "GIMP"? Thanks!

    Bill........:apple:
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    I don't believe it's installed by default. You'll have to install it off the original Leopard Installer.
     
  3. merc669 thread starter macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #3
    Thanks! I couldn't remember since I knew you had to do that in "Tiger" but was not sure if it was automatically installed in Leopard.

    Bill......:apple:
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    actually, Leopard will indeed install X11 for you by default.
     
  5. chem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #5
    Leopard includes version 2.0 of their X11 package. You will want to upgrade this; it contains many bugs.

    http://trac.macosforge.org/projects/xquartz

    Get the 2.1.3 Xquartz package.

    Also, a little birdie told me that 10.5.2 will have many of the Xquartz 2.1.3 patches in it. So you could just wait for 10.5.2 and see if that's sufficient.
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    On a new Mac?
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    ?? I don't understand your question?

    I know if you purchase a retail box of leopard, and run clean installation, click "next" through the process, you will end up with X11.

    It is checked by default if you click the customize button during the installation and take a look at the default components to be installed.

    http://developer.apple.com/opensource/tools/X11.html
     

    Attached Files:

  8. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #8
    MY new SR Macbook came with Leopard pre-installed. X11 is there too. :)
     
  9. merc669 thread starter macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #9
    Where or How do you check for "X11" to see if its on your computer?

    Bill.....:apple:
     
  10. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    /Applications/Utilities/X11
     

Share This Page