X11 required to run iPhone SDK?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by HiFiGuy528, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    I am lending my MacBook to a friend who wants to fool around with the iPhone SDK.

    Do I need to install the optional X11 package in OS X to run the SDK?

    I don't remember if I "checked" the X11 box when I did a clean OS X install. Is there a way to check?

    Thanks!
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    You just need an intel mac, running leopard, with the developer tools installed. I think X11 is installed by default anyway in Leopard. And no you don't need X11 to play with the SDK.
     
  3. grimjim macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #3
    No, don't worry. You don't need X11 support in order to write iPhone apps. You don't need to install it at all unless you actually want to write X11 apps.
     
  4. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
  5. keehun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #5
    I mean iPhone doesn't have X11 so you aren't gonna need make X11 apps... And nothing of XCode is X11 so..
     

Share This Page