X1600 default speeds?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Dagless, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    I've been having big problems with Half Life 2 recently, I've done everything (reinstall DirectX, Omega Drivers, Catalyst...) but reset my X1600 back to its original speed since I overclocked it a while ago. I'm almost certain it's overheating.

    Does anyone here know what they are? Or perhaps for awesome folk who haven't overclocked, download AtiTool and tell me what an untampered X1600 is?

    Cheers all :)

    ps. this is for iMac, not MBP.
     
  2. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #2
    Well the thing is the X1600 doesn't have a default speed... my MBP came at 300/300 but when I (shortly) had a C2D iMac I believe the speeds were closer to 400/400...

    I think maybe start at 350/350 and go up or down from there until you find a sweet stable cool spot.
     
  3. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #3
    The default speed for an X1600 in a 17" Intel iMac is 300/300. In 17" MBPs and larger Intel iMacs, the default speed is significantly higher (400/400).
     
  4. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    The overclocking application is claiming the Core speed to be 1124mhz and the memory at 1184mhz. Shouldn't that have near on destroyed my system? Thing is I couldn't change the settings at all. They would automatically jump back to said values.

    Anyways. I reinstalled Bootcamp drivers, new Catalyst drivers and even a fresh instal of DirectX. Not a single crash yet.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #5
    Something is seriously wrong with your ATITool.

    Try using a different app, I find the ati winclk utility is actually quite useful.
     
  6. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
  7. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #7
    Yeah thats what i did. I had .26 as well and thats what it said my clock speeds were. .25 was great. I now have them clocked at about 415 core 425 mem. Does anyone think i can go higher?
     
  8. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #8
    Are you having good solid performance with those clock speeds?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I played Company of Heroes and Joint Operations: Typhoon Rising and Escalation with my X1600 clocked at 470/470 for 4-6 hours with no issues.

    I did set my fans for 1400/1500/1700 using SMCFanControl over in OS X as well for more cooling.
     
  10. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #10
    on your imac?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Yes on my iMac Core Duo 20" 2.0 GHz.
     

Share This Page