x1600 Gaming

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nickarmadillo, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. nickarmadillo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    What are some of the best games that I can play on my Macbook Pro (see sig) at decent settings. I prefer shooters, RTS, and strategy and have Bootcamp, so Windows games are an option. I purchased Medieval II Total War a while back and it has gotten me back into a gaming mood, but I am looking for something new.
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    I have an x1600 iMac that runs TF2 at med settings and L4D at low (not at native res though). Overclock it though... I got a lot of extra power from mine.
     
  3. ColinEC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #3
    I've got an iMac w/Core Duo 2GHz, 256MB x1600, 2GB RAM.

    All Source-based games (Team Fortress 2, Day of Defeat Source, etc) will run fairly well, especially if you disable HDR and turn off AA.

    Battlefield 2, SWAT 4, The Sims 3 all play very well.
     
  4. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    Dawn of War on CrossOver, Doom 3, Quake 4 all run great. I've yet to find a game that won't run (Crysis aside) on an x1600 as long as you don't mind fiddling with the graphics settings.
     
  5. sven- macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #5
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Heh, well the console versions run at 600p (which is barely above standard definition in Pal regions). I'd imagine with the right settings at 600p an x1600 would run it just fine.

    But just to chime in and echo what others have said - Source engine games are perfect, id Tech 4 engine games run fine (with the exception of Quake Wars, maybe it was the megatextures but I had to lower the quality settings on this game). Farcry 1, UT3 at low settings but high resolution is fine, the GTA games... All fine fine fine!
     
  7. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #7
    Yeah I play CoD4 regularly on mine and it's fine with lowered settings. Half Life 2 runs like a charm and as raggedjimmi says, Far Cry is totally playable too.
    One thing I'd recommend to the OP is to max out your RAM to 3GB, it's not expensive and every little helps.
     
  8. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #8
    Same Machine! Halo UB plays great at nearly max settings (60+fps)
    I can get 50-100fps easy on Unreal Tournament 2004

    CoD2 Runs excellent as well!
     
  9. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #9
    I have a 15" 2.33 w/ 2gb ram, 256m vid card. I can run games like splinter cell double agent, rainbow 6 vegas, sims 3, and battle field 2 on medium high to high settings relatively well (all through bootcamp of course).
     
  10. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    Would you mind sharing what you used to overclock your card? thank youu:)
     
  11. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    Omega Drivers, it comes with an overclocking tool. FWIW I can push both the core and the memory to 470mhz without any overheating problems. It might be able to go faster but I'm happy with the performance there.

    I think the basic speed is 350mhz so it's a fair improvement.
     
  12. nickarmadillo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #12
    Using the ati overclocker I've been able to get up to 490/510 mhz. Are the omega drivers much better than the stock Apple drivers or the updated ati drivers? If so, link?
     
  13. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #13
  14. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #14
    Apple has a nasty habit of downclocking the GPU's in its' lineup. IIRC the x1600 has a standard clock speed of around 500 mhz on a PC and lower under OS X. Its such a shame that ATIaccelerator is no longer updated and doesnt support the x1600.
     

Share This Page