X5460 Quad Core for mac pro 1.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zeus9000, May 27, 2015.

  1. zeus9000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #1
    I was wondering if this processor will work on mac pro 1.1, let me know your thoughts.
    3.16GHz Intel Xeon 1333MHz 12MB L2 Cache Socket LGA771 Slbba
    Also any suggestions for the best processor out there right now
     
  2. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #2
    The 5400 series of Xeons will NOT work in a 1,1 Mac Pro. The most powerful processor set you can put in your 1,1 is a pair of X5365 Xeons, bringing it to 8 cores @ 3.0GHz. Many upgraders choose to go for X5355s (8 cores at 2.66GHz) because they are significantly less expensive.
     
  3. zeus9000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #3
    Thank you for the reply

    Another question, please let me know which is the best graphic card for mac pro 1.1 at the moment.
    Will the SSD Upgrade Kit for Apple Mac Pro - OS X Bootable, SATA III, PCI Express 2.0 will help my speed together with 240GB SSD for Apple Mac Pro 1,1 and 2,1, Preloaded with Mac OS X Yosemite

    Thank you for your help
     
  4. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #4
    Make sure you read up on how to get Yosemite running on your 1,1. I currently run it on mine, and it's great. I would recommend using a Velocity Solo x1 in your 1,1, as it lacks PCIe 2.0. Any modern SSD will saturate the native SATA 3Gbps bus, so you'll want a PCIe adapter to take full advantage.

    As far as GPU goes, if you're going to be running Yosemite, any PC NVIDIA card newer than the 8000 series will work. Best? Highest end card you can buy is the "best" but it will most likely be bottlenecked by the PCIe 1.0 bus in your machine. I would recommend going with either a Radeon R9 280X as recommended in the "Yosemite on 1,1s" thread, or do something similar to what I did and get a cheap, used Keppler NVIDIA card. (I found a GTX 460 on Ebay for $35, and a GTX 660 at my local Micro Center for $75.) All depends on the use you need out of it and what you'll be using your machine for.
     
  5. zeus9000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #5
    Thank you for your help.
    Sorry but i have another question for you
    How many monitors i can connect and how can i change to connect more
    tks
     
  6. IowaLynn macrumors 65816

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #6
    You've read thru the thread NGFF SSD blade ? A blade with appropriate adapter lke Lycom and 256GB or larger XP941 or SM951 or ebay one of the Apple units, when used in the 8x slot will be fine (and better than Mac Pro 2008's 4x PCIe 1.1 spec slots).

    Not all (any?) PC card will have all video out ports working but the Apple 5770 could support 3 displays using proper adapters and setup.
     
  7. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #7
    The amount of monitors would depend on the video card you select. Most modern video cards support up to four monitors per card. Personally, I run three connected to a single GTX 660, including a 4K monitor off the DisplayPort connector, no problem. Of course, you can always put ANOTHER video card in for theoretically four MORE monitors, should you have some crazy need for more than that.
     
  8. zeus9000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #8
    Thank you for the reply
    Can i change the Kernel Mode from 32-bit to 64?
    How do i do this
     
  9. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #9
    Can you ask all your questions at once and only after you've read a few threads.
     
  10. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #10
    I'm still unsure of what you are trying to do. Without modification, your 1,1 will NOT boot a 64 bit kernel. If you are in fact trying to run OS X Yosemite via the Piker-Alpha method, you will in fact be booting a 64 bit kernel, as 32 bit kernels have not existed in OS X since Mountain Lion Beta 1. Go ahead a give a read over at the Yosemite on 1,1s thread, and ask some questions there if you are running into trouble. If you follow the steps to the letter, they work perfectly.

    Good luck -

    -N
     

Share This Page