Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

MP 1,1-5,1 X5690 Dellided dead or not?

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium
Hi,

I bought 2 X5690 on ebay, the seller ensured me they were 100% working. (seller is feedback is 100% with about 800 sales)

I delidded them with the vice method (not testing them before I did (silly me))
I found the delidding whent very easy, the removel of the solder was a bit nerve wracking, though I think I did well.

These were then placed in my new (old) mac pro 4,1 (with 5,1 update) dual processor tray replacing the two E5520.

But when I switched on the Mac, there was no bootscreen and no chimes, only 'fainth' fans spinning.

I removed them, installed back the E5520 and the Mac booted perfect, did the switch again, only one on CPU A now and still no boot, switched the other X5690 and the same result. did this several times with different tightings on the heatsink, with no result.

After few athemts I saw that 3 pins where bent on the socket, they also looked like they got hot, the color was off.
I bend them back in place with a microscope, unfurtanatly 2 broke at the top, I got them straight up, so maybe they still make a connection.
I tried it with replacing back the E5520 and the Mac worked back again.

So, did I brake the X5690 cpu's? Is the problem in the placing? (I hope it is the latter)
I tried also one X5690 in a single tray (from a 4,1 updated to 5,1), but this was not possible because the heatsink did not touch the CPU.

Thanks!
 

Macschrauber

macrumors 6502a
Dec 27, 2015
998
371
Germany
if you bent the pins in the socket you did something wrong.

delidded Xeons should work like the original ones. Cut the glue, remove all solder and polish the remaining metal over the cpu die. Use the black plastic frames.

If you dont cut the glue and used the plastic frames you caused too much pressure on that area.
 

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium
if you bent the pins in the socket you did something wrong.

delidded Xeons should work like the original ones. Cut the glue, remove all solder and polish the remaining metal over the cpu die. Use the black plastic frames.

If you dont cut the glue and used the plastic frames you caused too much pressure on that area.

hi, thanks for your reply, I have indeed not remove the glue, I thought it was not necessary.
I used the plastic frames with the first attempt and noticed that the cpu die (polished) not reached the cooler, after that I removed the plastic frames.

-Notice that the E5520 cpu still works.-
 

buster84

macrumors 6502
Oct 7, 2013
416
149
hi, thanks for your reply, I have indeed not remove the glue, I thought it was not necessary.
I used the plastic frames with the first attempt and noticed that the cpu die (polished) not reached the cooler, after that I removed the plastic frames.

-Notice that the E5520 cpu still works.-

Bent pins are from user error. That's why he asked about the glue. 1mm might seem insignificant, but that's the difference between it booting or not. Good thing you fixed the pins becuase bent pins almost always lead to a failed CPU tray after turning it on.

Your issue now is that you may or may not have a fully functioning tray. Just because your other chips boot doesnt mean the xeons will if the pins effected are the pins that the xeon chips use and not the original 5520 chips.

Start by inserting one x5690 into CPU spot 1 then once that boots, swap that CPU with your other x5690 and if that boots you know the Cpus are still good. Then move onto CPU location 2 and if you never get it to boot then the tray is damaged somewhere and needs to be repaired or replaced. This upgrade looks eaiser than it is, I broke a tray from doing the same thing you did and I was never able to boost CPU location 2 so I replaced the tray and double checked everything and became extra cautious when I installed the new tray and I never had an issue since and I've been enjoying my upgraded mac pro for many many years now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dustwashere

Macschrauber

macrumors 6502a
Dec 27, 2015
998
371
Germany
Problem with dual 4.1 is that the cpu is kinda floating on the socket, not secured like those with heatspreaders in 5.1 or single 4.1

If the cpu construction with the frame plus glue is too thick you will have pressure on the socket. And you will get damage. If the frame has caused the die to get no contact with the heatsink the pressure of the heatsink was too much cause of too much thickness.
 

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium
Thanks for your reply's

I tried the X5690 in a single tray from my other mac (4,1 -> 5,1) and placed the IHS back on with thermal compound, unfurtantly I got an red led with startup, I asume this is a thermal warning?
 

MacUser2525

macrumors 68020
Mar 17, 2007
2,058
339
Canada
Thanks for your reply's

I tried the X5690 in a single tray from my other mac (4,1 -> 5,1) and placed the IHS back on with thermal compound, unfurtantly I got an red led with startup, I asume this is a thermal warning?

You can test single cpu in the first socket of the dual tray you will just need to put up with the full speed fans until shut down again if it works. That should allow you to get a proper test done with good contact with the heatsink as it was designed for. Oh and some of the time if all the ram in the slots are not recognized an extra turn or two on the heatsinks can help or a loosening can do it to. It all depends how much you have already done. You need to test with eight sticks to make sure with them trays.
 

MIKX

macrumors 68000
Dec 16, 2004
1,786
662
Aussie in Japan
Thanks for your reply's

I tried the X5690 in a single tray from my other mac (4,1 -> 5,1) and placed the IHS back on with thermal compound, unfurtantly I got an red led with startup, I asume this is a thermal warning?
No insult intended but you really need to search this forum and Google videos before undertaking a 4,1 CPU upgrade. It can be daunting. By comparison the original 5,1 is quite painless.

Changing 4,1 cMP CPUs is not child's play.
The difference in height between a LIDDED & an UN-LIDDED CPU is crucial as is the bolt tension on the heatsinks.
 

MVMNT

macrumors regular
Apr 28, 2010
192
138
Broke 2 pins at the top? You've messed up your CPU tray, basically.
 

minifridge1138

macrumors 65816
Jun 26, 2010
1,169
193
I think your processors are a lost cause. Maybe they were DOA before you deluded them, but you can’t prove that.

Your best option is to buy two new ones and try again. Or just leave it as stick.

Good luck!
 

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium
You can test single cpu in the first socket of the dual tray you will just need to put up with the full speed fans until shut down again if it works. That should allow you to get a proper test done with good contact with the heatsink as it was designed for. Oh and some of the time if all the ram in the slots are not recognized an extra turn or two on the heatsinks can help or a loosening can do it to. It all depends how much you have already done. You need to test with eight sticks to make sure with them trays.

I tried this several times, all cpu's work except the X5690 maybe because of the 2 broken pins? That's why I wanted to trie with a different tray.

No insult intended but you really need to search this forum and Google videos before undertaking a 4,1 CPU upgrade. It can be daunting. By comparison the original 5,1 is quite painless.

Changing 4,1 cMP CPUs is not child's play.
The difference in height between a LIDDED & an UN-LIDDED CPU is crucial as is the bolt tension on the heatsinks.

No insult taken ;-) I have done really much research, I have taken the 4,1 because it was cheap, I was stupid not to test X5690 before I delidded them.

Broke 2 pins at the top? You've messed up your CPU tray, basically.

The 2 pins are at the left almost in the middle, if you have the tray with cpu A located at the right.

I think your processors are a lost cause. Maybe they were DOA before you deluded them, but you can’t prove that.

Your best option is to buy two new ones and try again. Or just leave it as stick.

Good luck!

I'm afraid you have it wright, lucky I also did not pay much for the X5690, though I'm thinking to get X5680 next, because I'm sure they work with the broken pins.
 

MacUser2525

macrumors 68020
Mar 17, 2007
2,058
339
Canada
The 2 pins are at the left almost in the middle, if you have the tray with cpu A located at the right.



I'm afraid you have it wright, lucky I also did not pay much for the X5690, though I'm thinking to get X5680 next, because I'm sure they work with the broken pins.

I am a little lost here it almost seems like you talk about the tray having broken pins. I thought you meant cpu if you have broken the pins on the tray you are out of luck it is dead unless you can get it repaired to make the contact again.
 

minifridge1138

macrumors 65816
Jun 26, 2010
1,169
193
I am a little lost here it almost seems like you talk about the tray having broken pins. I thought you meant cpu if you have broken the pins on the tray you are out of luck it is dead unless you can get it repaired to make the contact again.
The CPU has pins. The tray has the holes the pins go in. I’m also a little lost.
 

minifridge1138

macrumors 65816
Jun 26, 2010
1,169
193
They have pads for the contact points on a cpu, pins are in socket. It appears he does mean the socket has been damaged then.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGA_1366
Oh darn. I had it backwards (it’s been almost 2 years since I list did this upgrade).

Yeah it sounds like the processor tray is broken. If you can make it work with the stock cpus, then put them back in leave it alone, and consider yourself lucky.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kwikdeth

buster84

macrumors 6502
Oct 7, 2013
416
149
Thanks for your reply's

I tried the X5690 in a single tray from my other mac (4,1 -> 5,1) and placed the IHS back on with thermal compound, unfurtantly I got an red led with startup, I asume this is a thermal warning?

You should post photos of your tray, some pins are grounds or empty pins so if you got lucky and that pin isnt used then you should be ok. As for puting the processors in the 4,1 tray this wont work unless you re-solder the lids back onto the CPU. At this point your in a hard spot because you didnt test them.

Do this, Put the dual tray back in and install your cpu into socket A, then tighten down the heatsyncs until it boots. Then once you get it to boot, make sure all 4 ram slots work. After that pull that cpu, then swap it with the other one and once you get it to boot with all 4 ram slots move onto socket B and keep testing and hope for it to boot. However, if socket A was the one that has broken pins this complicates all your testing.

Another tip that I noticed when i swapped my chips is to only use 1 ram stick in slots 1 and 5. Then work on CPU A first, by using the white led light as your guide. If its blinking white then the heatsync needs more tightening. If you see a red light then you tightened it to far, start by backing off some. Then if you still cant get it to boot unscrew all the screws and then turn them very loosly until they tighten up by hand, once you do this att another 1/8th of a turn and boot. If no boot, repeat another 1/8th. By doing it slow you have a higher chance of success and a less chance of failing if you tray is still good. Then repeat for CPU B if you get CPUA to work.

If all else fails then you have to figure out what is bad, the chips or the tray.
 

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium

Attachments

  • S20190824_004.jpg
    S20190824_004.jpg
    830.7 KB · Views: 94
  • S20190824_006.jpg
    S20190824_006.jpg
    553 KB · Views: 99

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium
Thanks, I used a USB microscope (1600x magnification) from my daughter, cheap and very handy.
 

buster84

macrumors 6502
Oct 7, 2013
416
149
Very nice photos. The issue I see is the burn Mark's on the pins which means the chips pins not only bent, but grounded out and sparked enough to damage the board. It's hard to say if the pins still function, youd have to use a multimeter and found the source on the other side and see if theres connectivity. It's also possible that you fried the chip that was in that slot.

Is that CPU A or CPU B in the photos l?
 
  • Like
Reactions: majus

Macta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2013
16
0
Belgium
Hi all, thanks for the reply's

The Mac is running fine now! I placed (after delidding) a set X5680's and everything worked straight away!

I tried the X5690's in a HP Z800 and stil did not work, so these are dead..

I think I am lucky with the pins..

Cheers!
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.