iPhone XBMC on iPhone and IPad

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lordofthereef, May 4, 2013.

  1. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Well, finally for around to installing xbmc on the phones and the iPad. Having trouble seeing the server using upnp on any of the devices.

    What I have done so far:
    1. Enabled upnp on router
    2. Enabled upnp on xbmc (server)
    3. Forwarded appropriate ports
    4. Scan for upnp server on iPhone and iPad. Nothing comes up.
     
  2. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #2
    IIRC, I too had problems with the server mode of XBMC.

    Do you have "BUZZ player." around? It, as opposed to that of XBMC, worked just fine in my config (see my UPnP bible if interested - http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1503346 ). I think it'll work in yours too.
     
  3. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Thanks for the input and links. I hadn't tried buzz player simply because xbmc seemed a lot more feature rich, and you can't beat the price. I'm not against dropping te $7 (since apparently there is an iPad version too), but don't so much want to do it if it won't work. Are you saying that you got buzz player to work upnp while xbmc did not? Again, happy to buy the apps if they work, but the ratings aren't exactly helping me jump on the decision.
     
  4. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #4
    Will check xbmc 12.2 today and report back; stay tuned!
     
  5. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Much appreciated.

    I did notice one slight caveat. I have AirPlay enabled on xbmc but nine of our devices actually see XBMC to do it. They used to... I am not sure what changed.
     
  6. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #6
    Tested both UPnP client and server mode in 12.2 on two of my iDevices (iPad 3 and iPhone 5, both running on 6.1.2). Had no problems in either. That is, UPnP should work in both directions in the latest XBMC - both as a server and as a rendering point.
     
  7. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Thanks for that. Any suggestions as to where I should start looking to troubleshoot this thing?
     
  8. cclloyd macrumors 68000

    cclloyd

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri A
    #8
    I recommend just using AFP or Samba to share them, then connect to it that way.

    That way you can also make it accessible from the internet if you so choose.
     
  9. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    So...
    Decided to install XBMC on my Mac, even though I never plan to consume media at that workstation, just for sake of trouble shooting. Works like a charm. This is so frustrating. :(
     
  10. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Another small update...

    I realized the HTPC (server) was running XBMC 12.1, while the other devices were on 12.2, so I went ahead and updated that. I didn't have high hopes, but I figured it wouldn't hurt. Didn't help (but I do like the interface in 12.2 better, so there is that).
     
  11. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    Alright!

    I think I have pinpointed the issue to being with wifi (although I still don't know what to do to fix). I took the iMac off of ethernet and onto wifi and could not see upnp devices. I tried connecting with the information I had (from the ethernet connection) and that didn't work either, as expected. As soon as I plugged back into ethernet, it worked just fine.

    So... what is causing me to see upnp over ethernet but not wifi?
     
  12. lordofthereef thread starter macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    Well, resolved the issue... sort of.

    I was told I couldn't use my own router with FiOS. Well, they were wrong. Set up double NAT with my airport extreme. Everything works beautifully. Thanks for an ACTUAL plug and play router, Apple.
     

Share This Page