Xbox 360 and iMac on a KVM switch

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rust.puppet, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. rust.puppet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    #1
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1185180&CatId=202

    im not 100% sure this is the right area to post this in but i have a 15 or so inch hp lcd monitor i wanted to use as a second screen for my imac via vga, so i was wondering if that kvm switch would alow me to have this setup

    imac - (vga adapter) - \
    Kvm switch - moniter and surround sound
    xbox 360 - (vga adapter) /


    and the second part is... it says it is powered by bus

    does that mean it would be powered by the moniters or what?

    is that a bad idea? will it strain my imac or what.

    if it's not a good idea please offer alternatives if possible. thanks.
     
  2. Mathemology macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #2
    Sure, that'll work, but you don't really specify your audio setup. Basically that switch takes audio in a 1/8" (headphone-size) jack which then 360 won't mesh well with. Are you using the KVM switch for audio switching also?

    Maybe you have a 5.1 setup with changeable inputs...? For instance, I have a Klipsch 5.1 system with multiple inputs that are switchable between optical, composite, and digital coax.

    Oh, and powered by bus means that it is pulling power elsewhere, eliminating the need for a power adapter. You monitor will be fine. These things don't need much power, if any, to operate. It's just a switch.
     
  3. gumbyx84 macrumors 6502

    gumbyx84

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #3
    Powered by bus means its powered by the USB ports its plugged into.
     
  4. rust.puppet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    #4
    for what i need 1/8" can be used or the normal 2 colored cables, i dont need AMAZING sound out of my xbox, just enough to play call of duty occasionally.

    its just a generic surround sound/2 speakers and a subwoofer untill i can afford the logitech z4's. i have all the adapters i need besides the KVM itself and the mini DVI or mini display to vga (whatever the imac uses)
     
  5. rust.puppet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    #5
    so can the xbox 360 and imac power it or should i look for one with its own power chord?
     
  6. Mathemology macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
    Haha, yeah I'm not trying to sell you on going out and buying a new audio setup. If you have the audio cables for the 360, then you're good to go. I was just pointing it out so it isn't an oversight.
     

Share This Page