XBOX 360 Ring of Death - Halo 3

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by robPOD, Sep 25, 2007.

1. robPOD macrumors 6502

So I get my brand new copy of Halo 3 today, and as I turn on my 360 to play it for the first time I get the 3 red lights, the ring of death. I turn of my 360 and reboot it and again get the ring of death. At this point Im starting to panic so I try to reboot again and It starts up normally, Should I be worried about this?

p.s halo 3 is friggin sweeet:D

2. Piarco macrumors 68030

Piarco

I thought the 3 red lights was a no-way-back thing... if its still working for you after a couple of restarts that's good news... although I'd be worried. My 360 started acting weird after I started playing MOH:A, and despite all seeming well recently, lockups and frozen screens resulted in a the RROD yesterday - my 360 is going in for the second time... just as Halo3 will be arriving on my doorstep in the morning :mad:
    Ah well, I'll upgrade to an Elite sooner than I was planning and sell on the Premium as soon as it returns.

:EDIT: Just noticed that this thread is in the wrong section of the gaming forum - best get a Mod to move it to console games.

3. TBi macrumors 68030

TBi

I'd return it. The Red Ring of Death is a sign that something is failing intermittently, soon it will fail fully. Get it replaced before it goes fully down the crapper.

4. Scott982 macrumors member

Scott982

My 360 just died also and to top it off I bought the Collectors Edition of Halo 3 which has scratched discs.

5. MRU macrumors demi-god

MRU

Yes and no.

Could simply be a loose AV connection or the HDD come a little ajar. Either of those would cause the three rings, and a simple nudge of the box puts them back in place and the machine works fine then on, therefore there is nothing 'internaly' majorly wrong with it.

I'd wait and see. :)

6. TBi macrumors 68030

TBi

Ya well i wouldn't! I'd smother it and give it a real RROD! MU HA HA!

:D

7. MRU macrumors demi-god

MRU