Xbox hook up

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by medavidcook, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. medavidcook macrumors member

    medavidcook

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #1
    Hey

    I am wondering if there is a way to play my Xbox through my iMac. If anyone can let me now will be great

    Thanks
     
  2. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
  3. Cnasty macrumors 68020

    Cnasty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #3
    I was curious about this as well previously as I have the 27inch late 2012 model.

    I'd love to use it as a display for my consoles when I can (XB1,Wii U,PS4)
     
  4. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #4
    So far all I am seeing for video options is video OUT. You might be able to use the Elgato card, but I doubt that the quality will be what you are looking for. No matter what though, It’s going to require external hardware since there isn’t anything the mac can do to natively receive audio and video. The native cards are all wired to video out.
     
  5. medavidcook thread starter macrumors member

    medavidcook

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #5
    Hello,

    I have the late 2012 model,

    Doing some investigating online, apparently all you need is a mini-display adapter and a HDMI cable connect the adapter to the back on the monitor and then the hdmi and turn on xbox and mac and then hit command+F2 and it should show the display.
     
  6. s0nicpr0s macrumors regular

    s0nicpr0s

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    Yeah. This is called Target Display Mode. I haven't used it myself as I have a mid '07. But I'd imagine that it would take in the HDMI output from the Xbox using the adapter.
     
  7. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #7
    You might run into an issue with audio - It can work though:

    Also this - if your iMac is Thinderbolt, you need a thunderbolt source.

    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/use-your-imac-as-a-monitor-with-target-display-mode/
     

Share This Page