XBox360 HTPC?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by cosmichobo, Aug 12, 2014.

1. cosmichobo, Aug 12, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2014

cosmichobo macrumors 6502

cosmichobo

G'day,

I've just bitten the bullet and purchased an XBox360 250GB, and WD 4TB MyCloud NAS.

My current HTPC is a G4 1.5GHz Mac Mini... which frankly struggles with any files greater than about 640x400... either due to CPU, and/or the older Wifi card...

My hope now is to replace the 2TB external USB drive connected to my Airport with the 4TB NAS drive, and replace the Mini with the Xbox...

Looking round, I see MicroSoft don't seem to just let you add the usual suspects (XBMC, Plex, etc) to the XBox via its own online marketplace...

So - How do I actually set this all up to work as a HTPC?

Total XBox newbie here...

Thanks

cosmic

2. dbanderson1 macrumors member

Dlna

you should be make your mac a DLNA server and then you should be able to access the files from your mac on your 360/ps3.

Free ones :
    XBMC
    MythTV
    TvMobili

Kinsky
    Plex
    uShare (easier to install with MacPorts)
    Paid ones :
    EyeConnect
    PlayBack
    SongBook
    The bold ones are directly mentioned to be DLNA servers.

So you won't get rid of your files, your mac will just host them. That would be the best bet. 360 isn't really a replacement for a mac mini, but many people use them as a front-end (WMC extender) for htpc that are running WMC.

3. cosmichobo, Aug 12, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2014

cosmichobo thread starter macrumors 6502

cosmichobo

DLNA server?

I've got the new NAS to handle storage, and ideally cut the iMac out of the equation.

4. GreatDrok macrumors 6502a

GreatDrok