Xcode 4 question

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Zord, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. Zord macrumors 6502

    Zord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #1
    Do I need to delete my Developer folder to install Xcode 4?

    I've never went about upgrading Xcode before.

    Thanks!
     
  2. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #3
    If you want to preserve your current Xcode 3 installation (which might be a good idea), you should probably install it elsewhere (or move Xcode 3 somewhere where Xcode 4 won't wipe it out).
     
  3. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    XCode 4 installer will move your existing /Developer directory to /Developer-old.
     
  4. Zord thread starter macrumors 6502

    Zord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
  5. bredell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    #6
    Are you sure? It didn't for me. When I upgraded to XCode 4 it replaced XCode 3 completely.
     
  6. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    The directory is there, I'll check if it was actually created by installing Xcode 4 - I dont remember it being there beforehand though.

    ( My xcode 4 was via appstore )
     
  7. jnoxx macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #8
    Don't install Xcode 4, it's killing me, literly.
    I have a macbook with the top I7 (before sandy bridge).
    4 gigs ram, 1600 mhz. So one of top Macbook Pro's from 4 months ago.
    And it doesn't load Xcode 4, it's slow, has memory leaks (if u run it for long time, it will leak RAM.) So eventually ur pc will slow down alot when ur doing the simpliest things. Damn, thinking of going back to 3.2.5
     
  8. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #9
    Interesting. I have Xcode 4 running on my 2008 MacBook Pro (4GB RAM, 2.4GHz C2D) and it runs fine.
     
  9. rdas7 macrumors regular

    rdas7

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    I've got the same problem. 2008 MacBook Pro (unibody), 10.6.6 and 6GB RAM. If I launch xcode4 my machine all but dies until I force quit it. Activity Monitor shows 20MB RAM free (that's MB not GB). Any solutions?
     
  10. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    It's running OK for me (Early 2010 15" MBP, 2.4GHz i5, 8Gb RAM). It is using a lot of RAM though (2.36Gb of Real RAM right now).
     
  11. Solublepeter, Mar 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2012

    Solublepeter macrumors newbie

    Solublepeter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    #12
    Same here

    Same here, it runs terribly slowly now.

    I like most of the code changes in Xcode 4, but it crawls on my mac mini. I had no problems with XCode 3 previously, that was nice and fast when using the simulator.

    Hmm. I just spotted that it wont compile for my iPhone either (could not load inserted library /usr/lib/libgmalloc.dylib)

    Peter Johnson
     
  12. jnoxx macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #13
    I fixed it, by installing 3.2.6, because it supports 4.3, and that's only thing i cared for lol :)
    I have 3.2.5, 3.2.6 and Xcode 4, but only using 3.x, works great :apple:
     
  13. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #14
    At first I thought it was the simulator bogging my iMac down, but consulting activity monitor revealed it was XCode 4.

    It didn't leave XCode 3 anywhere on my computer, it completely wiped it out. While some of the new features look cool (I like the GUI for what used to be unwieldy property lists,) I dislike the new program a lot... I hate the red underlines trying to say I've done something wrong, because I haven't and it all compiles and runs fine (better, in fact, than XCode 4 itself does.) Then the all in one interface... I'll admit all the windows maybe got unwieldy sometime, but I dislike that the new interface is trying to show you all kinds of crap when most of the time you don't need to see it at all... IE, why does it spring up my NSLog Output even if it's blank while I'm trying to write code? And going to the all in one was totally unnecessary to fix Interface Builder... IB needed to act smarter and check for new files on its own, and to save files when XCode compiles... IB and XC should be best friends, not one person with two heads.

    Bleh
     
  14. 1458279 Suspended

    1458279

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Only had one crash when I was starting a new project, otherwise it's been great: I7 950 4G.
     
  15. jnoxx macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #16
    I did a complete format, and reinstall of Xcode 4.0.2 and i'm still having trouble, sometimes in IB, that it starts slowing really own, all i have to do, is force quit Xcode, and then reboot..
    Makes me sad, but whatever.
     
  16. Sykte macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #17

    07 mac pro here, no problems to report.
     
  17. dantastic macrumors 6502

    dantastic

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #18
    I've a 2008 iMac and xcode 4 is a disaster. Haven't seen my 'ol friend the beach ball this often since I was on a G4.

    Not to mention that for some reason, about 50% of the time, when I close a project xCode crashes.

    I really dislike the new GUI. That you can't pop out the console for instance is madness. I've a dual screen setup and I find xcode 4 to be restricting my work more than anything else.

    will probably go back when I have time to do so.
     
  18. lloyddean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Des Moines, WA
    #19
    Just a remote possibility but try using 'Font Book.app' to validate all of your fonts.
     
  19. Sykte macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #20

    I'll try it on an original mini I have unplugged, what version of MacOSX are you running? I currently have it running on a 2010 IMac 27 and a 2007 Mac Pro without problems.
     

Share This Page