Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ellevy12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2007
hello. i am new to the mac and was doing c++ h.w. under dev cpp in the windows.

now i am trying to figure out xcode and it's really bad :-(

i had this project i was doing under dev cpp and i created a new , empty project in xcode, and dragged all the cpp and header files to the mac.

i tried to build and run it , but it won't work.

i sew that i need to build/make some target, but i dont know what it is and what should i make. i need somthing that runs to the command line like in windows, for a simple c++ course i am taking.

please help !

Elad.

kpua

macrumors 6502
Jul 25, 2006
Don't choose "Empty Project"
in the New Project setup. Choose "C++ Tool"

peterjhill

macrumors 65816
Apr 25, 2002
Seattle, WA
Xcode
file menu
new project
command line utility
c++ tool

start there
i'm not an SDE, so that is about as far as I can take you.

Peter

krisvdc

macrumors newbie
May 5, 2007
Add your files by : Project -> Add to project.

And try not to overwrite the main.cpp, you beter copy paste your other main.cpp in it.

Don't forget to disable the Build -> Allow zeroLink, when i started out with xcode, that caused some freaky results.

Regards,

Kris

ellevy12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2007
what does the zero link means ??

thanx for the advice guys, it helped, tough i am wondering what the targets means.

do you know of other programs such as Xcode (and more like the nice easy dev c++) for programing c++ under mac os x ?

krisvdc

macrumors newbie
May 5, 2007
zerolink : http://developer.apple.com/document...en.lproj/bs_linking/chapter_34_section_9.html You don't really need to know what it is. It just ****ed up my c apps.

I also code with vim and Makefile on other *nix-es. That's nice and easy ;)

Targets :

I made a new "Command Line utility" -> "C++ tool" with the name qdsf