xcode for mac 10.5.8 and iOS

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by RookieAppler, Mar 15, 2012.

1. RookieAppler macrumors member

Hello,
    I am new to apple development. I want to develop apps for ipad. I came to know that in-order to do that, i need a mac with SL. But, i have a mac with leopard on it. I installed xcode 3.0 and did some basic obj-c coding on it.
    So, should i buy a new mac with SL that has Intel core 2 duo on it? What about XCode?For developing ipad apps should i have XCode 4.0 with SDK 4.3???Please help me out guys...

2. gumblecosby macrumors 6502

As of ios 5.1 sdk, snow leopard has been depreciated. You can still develop ios 5.0.1 based apps for the new iPad with xcode 4.2 on snow leopard. If you are starting out, I would recommend going straight to Lion so you can run xcode 4.3.1 and avail of the retina ipad simulator.

3. RookieAppler thread starter macrumors member

Thanks gumblecosby. So as i have leopard on my mac, should i buy first snow leopard and then buy lion?will lion work on the h/w on my mac. i have a 2Ghz Intel Core Duo right now on my mac. I read on apple site that i need to buy SL first for $29 (discs) and then buy lion from digital store. Will it cause problems on this old mac or should i go and buy a new mac mini?
    I also read that xcode 4.0 is no longer available for SL. Inorder to get that one has to be a paid developer ($99:confused:) ). What are my options here?

4. gumblecosby macrumors 6502

Lion is compatible with any core2duo mac or higher. It wont work on coreduo macs unfortunately.

To get xcode 4.2 for snow leopard, you have to pay the 99$. It is available to download when you login after joining. There are shady ways to get it (torrents, etc.) which are useless if you want to publish apps on the app store as you need a iOS Dev license.

My recommendation:
    Lion + snow Leopard + ADC iOS license = about $160