XCode, Java, drawing images

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by chrisS, Sep 21, 2007.

1. chrisS
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

I am just getting started with XCode/Java and wanted to create a simple app that displays an image. I created a new "Java Swing Application" project called SwingTest and added the following code to the SwingTest constructor just before the setSize and setVisible calls. Nothing displays and I am trying to figure out why. I added the image to the project by dragging and dropping it into the Resources directory of the project and I can see it inside the contents of the built application package at /Contents/Resources/sample.jpg but it won't display. Any ideas are welcome, thanks.

Attempt #1:

ImageIcon pIcon = new ImageIcon("sample.jpg");
    JLabel imgLabel = new JLabel(pIcon);
    this.add(imgLabel);

Attempt #2:

String imgName = "sample.jpg";
    java.net.URL imgURL = getClass().getResource(imgName);
    Toolkit tk = Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit();
    MediaTracker m = new MediaTracker(this);
    Image img = tk.getImage(imgURL);
    ImageIcon i = new ImageIcon(img);
    JLabel imgLabel = new JLabel(i);

2. wrldwzrd89
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

Your code looks just fine. The problem is that your application's working directory isn't set to be inside the application package - hence why the application can't find the image and thus displays nothing. I believe this is an option somewhere in the project build settings.

DISCLAIMER: I am new to XCode too. I normally use Eclipse for Java development because, when I try to use XCode I get warnings about some imported classes being deprecated, and I can't, for the life of me, figure out why. :eek:

3. toddburch
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

Are you adding these elements to a JPanel or JFrame somewhere else that you didn't show?

Todd