Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thizisweird

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 20, 2017
Phoenix, AZ
So I'm not sure this is in the correct area, but here it goes!

I decided I'd try to run Xcode on my parent's cMP which has the 2.26ghz cpus, and only 16gb of memory. I figured this would be plenty of power to run Xcode, but I'm starting to wonder if I'm wrong about that (although, considering some people use the macbook air to program...).

For example, I was following a tutorial that creates a media player and when I drag a button onto the screen it froze up for about a minute. I forced quit the app, and tried again: same result. Am I really that impatient, and this computer is operating at normal speed? Because that happens instantly on the video I'm watching.

I'm completely new to programming, and stuff like this always shoves me away from actually learning, so I'd like to speed things up if at all possible. All that was running in the background was Safari and Chrome, and when I checked the activity monitor Xcode didn't need the extra 7GB of memory it has....

I'm also used to diagnosing a Windows box, so the troubleshooting is still a bit lost on me lol.

lloyddean

macrumors 65816
May 10, 2009
Des Moines, WA
Missing a few useful pieces of information -

Version of System Software
Version of Xcode
Amount of RAM (I see you've got 16 GB)
Size of, and Free space on, Boot device

Last edited:

thizisweird

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 20, 2017
Phoenix, AZ
My mistake for the missing bits.

High Sierra 10.13.6
Latest version of Xcode (downloaded and installed the day previous to the original post)
16GB of memory utilizing all slots
189GB free space on the 250GB boot drive

Let me know if there's anything more needed

lloyddean

macrumors 65816
May 10, 2009
Des Moines, WA