General xCon replacement - tsProtector 8

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bbplayer5, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #126
    Google it, there are many many places.
     
  2. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #127
    Why would you use beta 1 when it's up to beta 5 ?
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #128
    He said that newer betas gave him many issues.
    You can try for yourself and if it works fine then go for it I guess.
     
  4. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #129
    I've been using Beta 5 for a while without issues.

     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #130
    Good to hear, I will give it a shot with the Tivo app to see how it goes.
     
  6. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #131
    Because the issues they've introduced with b5 make iOS unstable, like the email issues. b1 was acceptable, so why not use it? b2 destroyed email reliability.

    ----------

    On what device?

    ----------

    And do you use it with the Tivo app, or what app are you preventing from jailbreak detection?
     
  7. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #132
    I'm using it on an iPhone 6 and it works great with the Tivo app. Beta 5 is the only version that worked for me without screwing up other apps.



     
  8. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #133
    Hmm, well I've only tried 1-3, so I suppose since you're actually using it on b5 with Tivo and saying it works, I'm going to have to give it a shot. b1-3 were really bad when it came to checking email .. whenever wifi wasn't connected, I would open my email and the list of emails would be blank until it re-downloaded them all from the server again. A real pain when international when on edge. LOL

    Will try it out and report back how it works for me :)
     
  9. DigitalDawn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #134
    Could someone please share which repo they used for Xcon 40 Beta 5? I've been looking and not sure which of these repos are safe.

    Thanks.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #135
    Im interested too.
    If you dont want to list the actual address just post the name of the repo cause xcon 40beta 5 is not there on any of the default cydia repos.
     
  11. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #136
    https://github.com/n00neimp0rtant/xCon-Issues

    Just download it and SSH into your phone to install it.

    I can confirm it works, and thus far no side effects on my iPad Mini Retina. I'm actually feeling like it's a bit snappier, and it seems like I don't get the even occasional error I got on v40b1

    Thus far I say it's a great update.
     
  12. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #137
    EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT

    Okay, unfortunately I spoke too soon. The v40b5 release has ZERO added stability\reliability over v40b1 ... same situation with the occasional "unauthorized modifications detected" and email issues. Going back to v40b1. If your purpose for using this is Tivo, no need to go from v40b1 to v40b5, as the same issues persist.

    EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  14. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #139
    I don't have any of those issues anymore with Beta 5. As you, I did have them with Beta 1. I would suggest you restore from a backup BEFORE you installed v40B1. That might fix your issues.



     
  15. shenan1982, May 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2015

    shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #140
    Restore iOS from a backup? In a time when there is no jailbreak available?

    I am have zero desire to jump out of a plane without a parachute, but thanks for your insight. LOL. The current version and b1 both work just fine, just with general issues that have plagued every xcon since the inception of xcon.
     
  16. ilkevinli, May 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2015

    ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #141
    I forgot that Apple stops signing the older firmware.

    The issues that plagued Beta 1 seem to be fixed in Beta 5. However, if your stating that you still have the issues when you installed b5, I'm thinking there must be something left from the previous b1 still causing issues. Did you try uninstalling b1 before insatlling b5 ?



     
  17. shenan1982, May 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2015

    shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #142
    You "forgot" that Apple stops signing older firmware, and you question the question I threw out there?

    B1 vs B5 has the same effect on TiVo... I even tried it on a clean device that's never had xCon...
     
  18. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #143
    Is this a jailbreak issue?

    I am not sure if this is a jailbreak issue or not, or if it is just an issue.

    In two different apps, Whitepages, and Discover, there are text-input boxes, it seems if I input text, then try to proceed to the next box, then the stuff that I typed does not stick.

    In the Discover App, it’s the username box that won't take the text-input. In the Whitepages App, it’s the "Street address" box for reversing street addresses.

    I have tried to search for an answer, but don't see how to go about the search.
     
  19. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #144
    Are you lost? Doesn't seem relevant to the thread topic.
     
  20. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #145
    Well, Yes, I was lost. I found out the cause, it was ReachApp, however the Dev Corrected it. I would not have suspected that as the cause, and disabled one thing at a time until the problem went away.

    But no, you are not correct, it was relevant. I was inquiring whether or not it was in fact a jailbreak issue. If it was not working because of the jailbreak, due to the app checking for a jailbreak, which it does. There was another post in this thread about people having issues with the TouchID, and they were trying to use the xCon to solve the issue. It worked for them, but I was still having an issue despite the continued issue. After correcting the ReachApp issue, the xCon solved the remaining problem.

    Thanks so much for you insight, although it was not the least bit helpful.
     
  21. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #146
    You come into a thread, post gibberish that has nothing to do with the thread topic, then you reply with this when someone suggests you're in the wrong place? Sorry to have pointed you in the right direction. Clearly your issue didn't indicate anything having to do with JB detection, but whatever. Not going to continue down this road.

    Good luck getting help around here with that mindset.
     
  22. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #147
    You are the one with a bad mindset. I came in this thread to see IF my problem was with jaiilbreak detection, nobody offered any advice on it.

    You did NOT point me in ANY direction. If you feel that I am in the wrong place, pointing me in the right direction, would point me to a specific place. Your comment was just a rude comment, nothing more.

    It was NOT clear that the issue did not have anything to do with jailbreak detection, as many people ARE having an issue with the Discover Card App and jailbreak detection. As I stated before, it turned out that I actually DID have a jailbreak detection issue with that app.

    I thought, that maybe the jailbreak detection was preventing me from entering a username/password. If an app detects a jailbreak, couldn't it be programmed to not allow you to login to the app?

    I think the reason why this thread exists is for users to ask for help. I even mentioned that I had searched for a solution, however was unsure how to go about searching, as I was unsure of the problem.
     
  23. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #148
    You're absolutely wrong. Neither Discover nor Whitepages have jailbreak detection. Furthermore, why would jailbreak detection prevent you from entering text into a box even if it did have said "feature" ?!??! that doesn't even make sense. Do you know what the purpose of jailbreak detection is? It's a built in feature to prevent you from using the app because it knows your jailbroken... apps like streaming media apps, banking apps, etc, use it to "protect you" from yourself.

    Anyhow, no this was not the right forum to ask in. My advice would be to create a new thread, which will get you exposure to the question in a relevant location without disrupting an unrelated thread. I know you're new here, so I'm sorry if I was harsh with my response, but next time read the context of the thread to make sure you're posting in an appropriate place.
     
  24. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #149

    First of all , check post #28 in this thread, the Discover App was ALREADY being discussed...

    I think you fail to grasp the concept, I DID read the thread, its not that complicated.

    I do know the purpose of jailbreak detection. Its not a hard concept to understand.

    The Discover App, DOES have jailbreak detection, which I ended up bypassing with Flex 2. ( http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1815903&highlight=discover+app )

    I think you are just again being rude, and I did NOT post in the wrong place. My request for help, did NOT disrupt anybody. The disruption was caused by your rude comments.

    You can continue to think whatever you want, as everyone is entitled to their own opinion - even if they are wrong.
     
  25. famoussasjohn macrumors 6502a

    famoussasjohn

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #150
    Bank of American App now requires you to type in a code for verification when using TouchID, so far beta 1 and 5 don't work to bypass it with xCon or tsProtector.
     

Share This Page