Xeon E5330 in Mac Pro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by juanm, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. juanm macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Fury 161
    #1
    Hi

    I have a 2x Dual Core 2.66Ghz Mac Pro 1,1. I'm currently ripping my whole DVD collection, and would benefit from more processing power with Handbrake.

    Would a pair of Xeon E5330 processors work in it?

    Basically the main differences are the FSB at 1066 (vs 1333) and the voltage.

    I guess I'd have to put the insulating tape on the corresponding pin, as per the instructions on o0o.it.

    Any stability issues to be expected?
     
  2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    If you do the BSEL mode, then yes, you can expect a ton of stability issues.
     
  3. juanm thread starter macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Fury 161
    #3
    Darn!

    Is there any way to make it stable like it is now?
    Also, would the same heatsinks work or should I get new ones?
    Here's the basic info about the two kind of processors:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    the heatsinks are fine. If you want it to be stable you'll want to bite the bullet and buy some 5335s or 5355s. But if the only thing you want to upgrade for is handbrake performance you might be better off saving your money. Instead of upgrading your processors, why don't you download Ripit. This application rips DVDs onto your hard drive, making an exact copy of the DVD.

    With the Mac Pro, your average DVD will take 12-16 minutes to rip. So, you can do a whole bunch of them in a short amount of time. Do however many per day as you want. Let's say you have time to do 6 rips in a day. Then, before you go to bed at night, set up a handbrake queue with those 6 movies and let it work all night. In the morning, you'll have all your handbraked movies, and you can then delete the ripped DVDs from your hard drive and start over.
     
  5. juanm thread starter macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Fury 161
    #5
    Mmh..., that's a good idea. I'll give it a try and see how it goes.
    Thanks heaps!
    :)
     

Share This Page