XFX 8800GT(S) in 1,1 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Goftrey, Oct 4, 2013.

  1. Goftrey, Oct 4, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2013

    Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #1
    Hey everyone, I'm in talks with someone over a (PC) 8800 GT from XFX. The 6570 I have in my Pro now was never intended to be there long & I want it gone asap. I know this is an older card & that newer cards (such as the 6570, as well as pretty much any modern ATI/nVidia card out there) are plug & plug in OS X nowadays, just without the boot screen.

    Would this XFX PC card be plug & play in my '06 Pro running Lion?

    Thanks.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    No, I think you need Geforce 400 or 500 series (Fermi) for Lion. 8800GT is pre-Fermi.
     
  3. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #3
    Bollucks. Thanks anyway mate.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Actually, it will work.

    AT least as well as it works to begin with.

    8800GT are iffy as they age, the XFX ones use cheaper parts.

    There is even a tiny chance it might be flashable but more than likely not.
     
  5. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #5
    What do you mean 'as well as it works to begin with'?
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    It should work. The 8800 GT was an option available from Apple for Mac Pro 2,1 and 3,1s.
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    My bad. The Nvidia FAQ implies the only Nvidia PC cards that will work in Lion are Fermi.
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    When 8800GTs were in demand and we flashed them, I tried a few XFX ones.

    They were more likely to have issues than other brands.

    XFX was only one I ever saw with a 2 wire fan, instead of usual 4 wire.

    They just aren't well made and Nvidia had bad solder in G92.

    Just be very careful not to flex the card at all during install or whenever.

    But if you have a working OS install from 10.7.3 or later, should fire up when computer reaches desktop.

    If card has issue and doesn't finish booting, you'll never see anything/
     
  9. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #9
    Awesome bit of info. So just to reiterate, even under Lion - I'd still need to flash the card?
     
  10. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #10
    You only need to flash the card if you need the boot screen.

    Not all 8800 GT cards had flash chips large enough to hold firmware that also contained the EFI portion. In those instances, you would need to replace the flash memory on the card.
     
  11. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #11
    Great! What about a GTS then? The bloke is literally giving the GTS' away.
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    The situation is the same with GTS models. The OS X drivers have support for it.
     
  13. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #13
    Thank you!
     
  14. Goftrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #15
    Just thought I'd give an update - mainly for future reference if anyone happens to come across this thread.

    Running 10.7.5 Lion & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit - the XFX 8800GTS G80 320MB WORKS out of the box! No faffing around with flashing. No boot screen of course but it's working beautifully.
     

Share This Page