XFX Radeon HD 5770 with Mac Pro 1,1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by theJTL, Jul 11, 2016.

  1. theJTL macrumors newbie

    theJTL

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #1
    First time poster, long time lurker.

    I just picked up a 2006 Mac Pro 1,1 last week for a great price ($150!!) it's fully functional and updated to 10.7.5, 16GB RAM, 2x2.66 quad.

    I got it planning to upgrade to Yos. or Cap. so I could run Logic Pro X, etc in my home studio workspace. Bought an XFX HD 5770 from eBay, the seller claimed it worked with Mac, but I should have been wary when he said he only had a molex to 6 pin connector.
    [​IMG]

    Got the card today and have tried just about everything I could think of to test it's viability to no avail. I tried both DVI ports, DVI to VGA, even HDMI...not a flicker.


    I'v spent the past couple hours coming the boards and haven't been able to find anything definitive re: whether it will work or not. But at this point I'm thinking no. Posting this thread as a last hope. I've contacted the seller about a return, but nothing yet.

    Any one use this card successfully? The price was right compared to the others on offer and I jumped at it, this being my forst go-round with Mac Pro, although I'm a mac user since the early 90s and pretty handy with computers in general.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
  3. NZXTInerTia macrumors member

    NZXTInerTia

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #3
    Well, are you using the six pin connector? You do know you have to run an Apple Specific six pin logic board connector, to the six pin PCI connector on the GPU.
     
  4. theJTL thread starter macrumors newbie

    theJTL

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #4
    I'm using the 6 pin that the previous GPU was connected with.
     
  5. NZXTInerTia macrumors member

    NZXTInerTia

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    I'm not sure how PC cards work on the older OS X versions, I know I'm running a GTS450 in my El Capitan loaded 1,1 and it works flawlessly.

    As a side note, the 5770 is really a nice card. I had them in triple crossfire in my old, old PC build.
     
  6. theJTL thread starter macrumors newbie

    theJTL

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #6
    Update: I couldn't get the HD 57700 to pass video on a PC either. So I shipped it back and paid for an original mac pro version. Cheapest I could get was $150. Paid $70 for the PC version.
     
  7. NZXTInerTia macrumors member

    NZXTInerTia

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    Bummer, hopefully my PC HD5870 ends up working! Wish you luck, and curious to hear how the reference Apple HD5770 works for yah.
     
  8. Mac Pro Convert macrumors newbie

    Mac Pro Convert

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    #8
    I am running an MP 1,1 at the moment with Dual Genuine Mac Edition 1 Gig Radeon HD 5870's
    with both cross fire bridges connected.

    If you use a DVI to VGA adaptor and run your monitor in VGA mode you will get the boot screen,
    I even tried ReFind in DVI mode still no boot screen,
    you must run monitor in VGA Mode with the adaptor to get boot screen
    with the HD 5870 in MP 1,1.

    I have no idea if the flashed PC version of the HD 5870 will work or not.

    Apart from having to run both cards at X8,
    the only issue I am having is boot camp windows
    will not boot with both cards installed.

    If I take the second card out windows will boot.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Disable crossfire may help. Mac EFI and crossfire doesn't like each other.
     
  10. Mac Pro Convert, Jul 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017

    Mac Pro Convert macrumors newbie

    Mac Pro Convert

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    #10
    already tried that as well as removing both the bridge cables,
    windows just wont boot with both cards installed.

    However My MP 3,1 will boot windows with both cards
    and both bridge cables installed,
    Guess its an architecture thing,
    Mp 3,1 has a newer PCIe bus so windows will run both cards and both at X16.

    The HD 5870's came out of my MP 3,1 when I upgraded it
    to a Flashed 2Gig Nvidia GTX 770
     
  11. MIKX macrumors regular

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    I flashed an XFX HD 5770 ( and a Sapphire Vapor-X HD 5870 ) for EFI bootscreens.

    Have a look at post #213 here on the Netkas forums http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.msg32384.html#msg32384

    Whatever vid cables you use don't forget to also change the monior INPUT settings too. So many people forget this

    ( The pic below if from my old cMP 2,1. I have a flashed 5,1 now. )
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page