XLD question FLAC to Apple Lossless

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by umbilical, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. umbilical macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #1
    XLD app is great, I have a question: I have a lot .flac files that I want convert to apple lossless (.m4a) for play on my fav app itunes... but whats is the best method for dont loose the original quality of the .flac files?

    1) Two Steps - Convert .flac to .wav on XLD, later I go to to itunes and covert the .wav to apple lossless (.m4a)

    2) Two Steps - Convert .flac to .aiff on XLD, later I go to to itunes and covert the .wav to apple lossless (.m4a)

    3) One Step - XLD can convert the .flac to apple lossless (.m4a)

    thanks any help? :confused:
     
  2. duffer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #2
    I use Max to do all my FLAC conversions. Great program.

    I'm pretty sure XLD will convert FLAC to ALAC.
     
  3. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #3
    thanks, but I ask for XLD beacuse that app load the .cue files and extract great in individual tracks... my problem question is about the output...
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    FLAC to Apple Lossless of course. Anything else is just wasted time.
     
  5. duffer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #5
    Gotcha....and I would say Cromulent is absolutely correct.
     
  6. Fallinangel macrumors regular

    Fallinangel

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #6
    Just use XLD to convert your FLAC files to Apple Lossless, everything else would be a waste of time!

    --------------

    STEP 1:
    First, change your output format to Apple Lossless!
    Just click on "XLD" in your menu bar, chose "Preferences...", then under "General", select "Apple Lossless" as the "Output Format"!

    [​IMG]

    STEP 2:
    After that, it is time to select the files that you want to convert.
    Just go to "File" in the menu bar, click "Open..." and select the files which you want to transcode!

    However, if you have a CD/Album that is ripped into only one, huge FLAC file with a CUE sheet, you may still split the files accurately by going to "File" in the menu bar, and by clicking on "Open Raw PSM (Bin/Cue)..."!
    Then select the CUE Sheet and decode the tracks to your desired format.

    --------------

    If you convert your FLAC files to Apple Lossless, you won't lose any quality, because both formats are LOSSLESS audio formats.
    However, the Apple Lossless format doesn't support CUE sheets. If they are important to you, you should stick with the FLAC format!!!
     
  7. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #7
    wow, thanks very much for the info Fallinangel, XLD are very great app! ;)
     
  8. Fallinangel macrumors regular

    Fallinangel

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #8
    No problem! XLD really is a great app!!!
    Probably the best Audio CD ripping tool for OS X.

    If you have any other ripping or audio related questions left, just PM me!
     
  9. markmacintosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #9
    I can't get xld installed, tried all the download links I could find but there are just textfiles opening on my mac, I use Leopard..
     
  10. rruffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #10
    I had the same problem when I was using Safari. Then, I tried to download it with Firefox and it worked. One thing that I have learned during my "Mac life" is that it is alway handy to keep several browsers in the ready.
     
  11. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #11
    I love that app remove the gap and the end of the song (I mean the seconds with silence!) but that works when I have a .cue related with a single file on .flac or .wv BUT! when I have separate .flac files (songs) for example and add to XLD the app dont remove that gaps (silence seconds without music) I dont know why that option are located in the preferences and dont when I add a .cue

    I hope that you understand me, thanks Fallinangel
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page