XP bootcamp messing up time in OSX

Discussion in 'macOS' started by owner132, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. owner132 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #1
    I just installed XP on my mac unfortunately and it is screwing up my OSX time up by 5-7 hours. How can I fix this because I don't like windows doing that to OSX. It pisses me off.
     
  2. owner132 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #3
    Ummmm..... nope that was no help at all. Any other suggestions.
     
  3. JadedRaverLA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #4
    The problem is that PCs all store the local date and time in BIOS. Macs store the date and time as GMT and adjust based on your time zone settings.

    Apple's page is simply telling you to enable internet updates of the date and time each time you start up the machine (under both OS X and Windows) so that the OS goes online and resets the time to be correct for that OS. As long as the system always checks, that should work fine.

    You can also do the exact opposite: turn OFF internet time updates in OS X (and optionally Windows), and change your time zone settings in OS X to GMT (Greenwich Mean Time). Then set the clock correctly, and it will stay the same in both Windows and OS X.

    There's probably third-party software out there that can do this for you, but I've never bothered looking as both of those options work fine.
     
  4. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
  5. owner132 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #6
    I don't have that registry you are talking about, how do I make it?
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    You do. All Windows systems have one. If you can't find the Registry Editor, go to Start -> Run and enter as the command:
    Code:
    regedit
    That'll take you to a view of your system's registry.
     
  7. owner132 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #8
    I did exactly as said and looked exactly as said and I swear man I don't have it.
     
  8. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9
    Lol you should. No windows system doesn't have registry...
     
  9. owner132 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #10
    No! I have a registry, but I can't find the RealTimeIsUniversal key!
     
  10. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #12
    Create it. Right click, New -> DWORD Value

    We know you don't have the key, NO WINDOWS SYSTEM HAS IT BY DEFAULT.
     
  11. owner132 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #13
    Much more helpful, I didn't know that. Thanks a lot guys!
     

Share This Page